Feast logo

When Duke's Rocked My BBQ World

Local Restaurant is About More Than Food, It's About Love

By Mike BarzacchiniPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Duke's Little Red Caboose in East Dundee, IL, Where BBQ Magic is Made. (Mike Barzacchini photo)

I brake for BBQ. I travel for BBQ. I’ve been known to plan vacation days around the search for BBQ. I’ve eaten BBQ from the Carolinas and Tennessee to St. Louis and throughout Texas. You get the idea. Yet, never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d find some of the best BBQ I’ve ever eaten just a 10-minute walk from my front door.

It happened a few years ago on a blustery early May day in our northern Illinois town of East Dundee. My wife, Susan, was visiting family out of state. Left to my own Sunday devices, I wandered into town for the first-of-the-season farmers market. Before I reached the town square, I saw the smoke and the delicious smells hit me. What’s this? BBQ smoking in our town?

That’s when I discovered Duke’s Blues-N-BBQ. My first introduction, besides the smoke and the smells, was meeting Duke’s father Tanzy, the godfather of the grill. Then I met Duke himself. And then, I sampled the BBQ. Incredibly tender ribs that fell from the bone and melted in my mouth.

I must have been a sight that day as I tried to negotiate my plate of ribs, napkin blowing in the wind, while texting Susan with saucy fingers, “Honey, you will not believe it! BBQ Nirvana has come to our town!”

In those early days, Duke’s operation was mobile. From farmer’s markets to festival food booths, and brewpub pop-ups. I tracked Duke’s travels to get another taste of his amazing food with all the fervor of the most dedicated Deadhead following Jerry and company back in the day.

Eventually, Duke’s Blues-N-BBQ found its permanent home in a big red caboose near the center of East Dundee. This location has become the BBQ capital of my world. On weekends, you can follow the smells and the blues music coming out of the speakers across the Fox River Bike Trail to Duke’s caboose. Since that first taste of Duke’s ribs, I’ve gone on (many times) to enjoy his rib tips, brisket, pulled pork, pulled chicken, half chickens, turkey legs, and Mississipi smoked sausage. I can honestly say I don’t have a favorite. It’s all deliciously wonderful.

If Duke’s impact ended at amazing BBQ, it would be impressive enough. But I’ve come to learn that Duke has one of the biggest hearts of anyone I’ve ever known. During the holidays, he’s always feeding those in need and organizing toy drives for kids. This past Easter, he even organized an egg hunt around the caboose for the area children. When the pandemic hit, he started a fund for local service workers who had lost jobs due to restaurant closings. He’s always giving back -- to his high school, local churches, and community organizations. And that’s just the tip of Duke’s generous iceberg.

Duke also founded a summer blues festival, bringing music, visitors, and the distinct flavors of other restauranters to East Dundee. This year’s fest will be held on July 23 and 24, 2021.

Beyond the food, the music, and generosity, for me, the best part about finding Duke’s Blues-N-BBQ is that Susan and I have been honored and graced to become friends with Duke and his wife Rhiannon, along with getting to know so many wonderful people in Duke and Rhiannon’s family and friend circle.

For Duke, great BBQ is just the beginning. He’s about making a positive difference in his community and the lives of others. As Duke says it best, “Spread the word but most importantly spread the LOVE.”

If you’re like me, and BBQ is more of a passion and obsession than food, you owe yourself a trip to Duke’s Blues-N-BBQ. If you don’t like BBQ (and I can’t imagine this), it’s worth the visit to meet Duke and the Blues-N-BBQ crew. Duke’s Facebook page is a great place to find out what’s on the menu that week and keep up on events like the Blues Festival.

restaurants

About the Creator

Mike Barzacchini

Writing my third act.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mike BarzacchiniWritten by Mike Barzacchini

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.