Feast logo

Welcome to Torchy's Tacos

Texas' Best Mexican Street-food Tacos!

By Selene RomanPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Republican and The Barn Burner

"Damn good" read a sign across the restaurant. My very first time eating at Torchy's Tacos was back in 2016; it was a group of friends and I at the Cinco Ranch La Centerra. I had no knowledge of what I was about to eat since at that time I could care less about food, but something changed. I gazed at the menu above the cashier and I saw a lot of combinations of a simple dish, tacos. I asked my friends around me what they recommended and they all told me their favorites. Now each answer was different. From one side you hear, "I love the 'Trailer Park" and from the other side you hear someone say, "Oh, no no try the 'Democrat'.'' I'm between two options, which is always hard when you go try something new because you don't know exactly what you want. It's my turn and I tell the lovely cashier "two Democrats." You might think two isn't enough but at Torchy's one taco is enough.

The Democrat consisted of barbacoa, avocados, cheese, cilantro, onions, and tomatillo sauce. They did actually look like street tacos—you know, the ones you get from a basic taco truck next to the gas station. Although let me tell you, I don't really like barbacoa. I know, I'm a Hispanic who doesn't like barbacoa—it's just that the meat itself isn't appealing to me. Don't get me wrong, the tacos were good but I just didn't get the wow factor—my taste buds did not dance. I blame it on the barbacoa, because when I order street tacos from a local taco truck I get fajita, not barbacoa. The ambiance itself was chill, not like a typical Mexican restaurant where you have mariachis playing at every table and you have a karaoke contest over there at the stage. This is a hipster place. They have a bar where all people of age 21 and older get their maragaritas and they even have... sugar cane soda. In other words, Mexican coke. Forget about that artificial sugar. Millennials are all about the real sugar.

The second time I went to Torchy's it was last year, July. My friends and I had finished looking at the artwork at the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston. We were starving so we decided to hit up the local Torchy's in Montrose. I decided to try something new because, as I can recall, I do not like barbacoa. So I looked at the menu and I decided to go with the Republican.

The Republican is made with sausage, cheese, pico de gallo, and poblano sauce. When I took a bite, I fell in love. I had enjoyed every bite, and finally my taste buds danced. I read the sign across the restaurant that said "Damn good" and I nodded as a sign of agreement and satisfaction. I truly believe in second chances. Barbacoa might not be my favorite but for others it can make their taste buds dance. The Republican was absolutely delicious and the Poblano sauce added a nice spicy kick to the taco. Every time I go to Torchy's I order The Republican. It is my all time favorite.

The Trailer Park was the third one I tried, and you guessed it, with a group of friends. I noticed that The Trailer Park has its fans so I decided to try just one, because I had to make room for The Republican, of course. As I got my order, I got a bit nervous: Am I going to like it? Most importantly am I going to LOVE it? Is it going to make me say "Damn, those tacos are good"? The Trailer Park is a fried chicken taco with green chilies, pico de gallo, cheese, and poblano sauce. I love fried chicken so of course I had to see for myself how good this taco really is. WOW! I could finally understand why the Trailer Park has its fans. The fried chicken is hand-battered and it was delicious. The cheese with the green chilies reminded me so much of the tacos my grandma makes. Of course they don't taste the same, but it brought flashbacks from a dish I didn't even know existed.

Finally, I got to try one of their new tacos, The Barn Burner. I've got to say the names for their tacos are pretty creative. The Barn Burner is a spicy taco that I was happy to try because I love spicy food... just not that spicy, but I said bring it on. Starring with fajita, bacon, goat cheese, cilantro, avocado, and topped with their famous Diablo sauce. In reality I did not pay attention to the name of the sauce... big mistake. The Barn burner lives up to its name. Having water is a must when eating this taco. Besides the spiciness, I loved the fajita and the bacon mix. My two favorite meats in one taco, of course I liked it.

Why do they name some of their tacos after political parties? I don't know, but I will find out. Overall, I love the Republican so make sure to try it out! I'll keep you posted for any updates in my continuous adventures with Torchy's, CHEERS!

Torchy's Tacos menu

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Selene Roman

I'm from Mexico and currently live in Houston, I love food so read my stories to find out what are some of the top notch food places in Texas! Let me do the bad tasting for you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.