Feast logo

Venison and Sweet Potato Stew

Healthy and tasty, what more could you want?

By Amanda PaynePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Venison and Sweet Potato Stew by Amanda Payne

A hot bowl of Venison and Sweet Potato Stew is the perfect recipe for a winter evening. This is an effortless hearty crock-pot stew recipe. Plus, it's low-calorie and healthy if you're on a diet you'll have no guilt.

It is made with bite-size pieces of venison, big chunks of sweet potato, carrots, bell peppers, onions, garlic, tomatoes, seasoning, and broth.

The first time I made this recipe, I was worried the ingredients wouldn't blend well. I never thought sweet potatoes would go well with meat, much less beef broth. It doesn't sound very appetizing. The recipe I found was made with beef and raisins.

There was no way I was going to put raisins in a stew. I might be missing out, but the thought of it is gross. I had plenty of venison stew meat and really wanted to try the recipe. I made some changes to the recipe, and now it is a family favorite. I try to make it at least once every winter.

You can alter this recipe as you please. If you don't have venison, you can use beef. Rather than using stew meat, you can use venison burger instead. You can substitute the diced tomatoes with V8 juice or any other tomatoes or tomato juice.

Prep Time: 5 Minutes

Cook Time: 5 Hours

Serves: 8

Serving Size: 1.25 cups of Venison and Sweet Potato Stew

Calories: 262

Fat: 3 g

Carbohydrates: 20 g

If you are on a diet and nutrition information is important, remember to recalculate the nutritional information provided above if you make any changes to the recipe. MyFitnessPal is a good resource.

Venison and Sweet Potato Stew Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds venison stew meat, cut to 1-inch cubes
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 cups of sweet potatoes, peeled and diced into 2-inch pieces
  • 1 cup of carrots
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon of minced garlic
  • 2 beef bouillon cubes, crushed
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika
  • 14 ounces of diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups beef broth or venison broth

Getting It Done:

  1. Put the venison and flour in a crock-pot and stir, coating the venison well.
  2. Add all other ingredients, cover, and cook on high heat for about 5-6 hours or on low for about 7-8 hours.
  3. Give it a taste test to see if it needs more salt or other seasonings.
  4. Serve hot!

Make absolutely sure the sweet potatoes are cut to a large size; at least 2-inch pieces. If not, they will be overcooked by the time the rest of the ingredients are done.

This recipe is delicious plain or eaten with cornbread, flatbread, or saltine crackers, and the leftovers are just as good.

Check out my Venison and Sweet Potato Stew video...

Sharing is caring. Please share my recipe if you enjoy it. I appreciate your support very much.

Would you like more delicious recipes? Take a look at my Venison Potato Soup or my Venison and Barley Soup recipe below or visit my profile.

Maybe you have a sweet tooth and need something sweet. Try my No-Bake Oatmeal Candy recipe.

This Venison and Sweet Potato Stew recipe was originally published at deerrecipes.online. I am the owner of that recipe website. I am in the process of moving all of my recipes to Vocal.Media. Please bear with me during this transfer. I appreciate my readers more than I can express.

Check out my author profile on Vocal.Media if you are looking for more recipes. Please consider subscribing to me, Amanda Payne. It's free! Likes, pledges, and tips are welcomed and appreciated but not required. You can also find me on Pinterest and Rumble.

recipe
2

About the Creator

Amanda Payne

An avid beekeeper, crafter, foodie, photographer, and nature girl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.