Feast logo

VeggieGrill - NYC

A vegan and vegetarian restaurant

By Goosey Q.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Traveling along the busy streets of New York City, I find myself taking in the beauty and art of its authentic scenery. From the tall buildings and skyscrapers, to the glass infrastructure. In a time of masks and social distancing, it’s easy to forget the beauty of the world. Wondering through the world around you, even by yourself gives you a chance to see the world as it is and the natural environment. Like a traveler going to another state or country, you explore while viewing new (and old) venues in hopes to get inspired.

The spring weather making its way to the east coast and the rustling winds keeping the fellow pedestrians cool, a restaurant just left of 23rd st, across from the lego store there lies a restaurant that has seating both indoor and outdoor. Bordered with green lighting on the outside and wooden seating with a white backdrop on the inside, this place is inviting and welcome.

Now don’t get me wrong. This place is a vegan restaurant which means there is only meat alternatives and non dairy ingredients. From chickpea flour to hemp seeds, the items on their menu isn’t for the faint of heart. For the vegetarians, vegans and those who enjoy a break from the meat and dairy world, this is a great place to dine in.

I’ll will tell you up front, at the time of this post, I am not a vegan but when I saw this one item displayed in their glass door, my curiosity struck. It was one of those moments where you think you have seen it all and then someone whips out their secret weapon that instantly grabs you.

Once I noticed their Vegan Reuben Sandwich displayed on that glass door, something sparked and I instantly went in. Before entering, there is outside seating near a green canvas where lies a menu stand. Theres people and tables spread out to meet appropriate guidelines. The place inside has plenty of space for indoor dining within the guidelines and it is clean upon my arrival. 

I had ordered a Vegan Reuben Sandwich that gives you a side of your choice. From pita chips to French fries. My choice was sweet potato fries. Of course I cannot just have the main course without having some snacks to compliment the textures and layers that I am about to embark on. A carrot cake and a big chocolate chip cookie (which are vegan by the way) was sitting aside the wonderful main course that became the highlight of my day.

Once seated and my food brought to me, I’m presented with such a cute plate that rested the Reuben. After opening my bottled root beer and taking a gulp, I slowly unwrapped the VeggieGrill wrapper and saw the toasted rye bread pop out of hiding.

Witnessing its beauty, I saw what looks like their take on pastrami, accompanied with sauerkraut, mustard. What I had thought was hummus on the side was actually vegan mayo. Which if you think about it actually helps balance the sandwich. Once I took a bite, my mouth felt like it had waken up from a winter hibernation.

Ascending from sleep, my taste buds slowly felt the spices of the mustard with the hits of “pastrami” meat and sauerkraut dancing all over the tongue. The rye bread had the right amount of crunch and their vegan cheese was light and not overpowering. In my opinion, I would say that the Vegan Reuban Sandwich tasted like a New York style hotdog with everything on it.

The Vegan Carrot Cake is moist and once you cut through a piece, you get a moist and rich cut which melts right into your mouth. There’s a banana nut crumble along with baby carrot shavings which couldn’t really taste until you had more of it. The icing has a of carrot flavoring in itself as well. It's not too sweet where you are flooded with sugar which is a nice finisher for a comforting light meal. 

Overall my experience in VeggieGrill - NYC was very pleasant and the staff is very helpful. The people I communicated with were helpful in establishing their covid guidelines for indoor dining while maintaining a clean and safe environment. Their dishes was tasteful and plentiful for the pallet. Their goal to help heal the planet by the food they create and distribute to the customers is very well received. will definitely venture back to try some of their other menu items. If you would like to check them out feel free to check out their site or visit them in Flatiron NYC among the many locations that they have. They also do to go orders as well. Thank you and happy eating

restaurants
1

About the Creator

Goosey Q.

A Portfolio of Written Pieces from Poetry & Reviews, to Positive Affirmations & Mental Health. This page is to Inform, Educate, & Inspire people to take a positive outlook on life while relating to struggles that we have or haven’t faced.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.