Feast logo

Vegetarian Chili

One Pot Meal

By Marcella MitchellPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
One Pot Meal Vegetarian Chili

In 1975, I was a bilingual teacher in the Barrio of Palm Springs. I had twenty four wonderful children from Mexican families that were farm workers in the area. None of them spoke English and all communication was in Spanish. I was using my high school Spanish while taking extended Spanish lessons at the local college to improve my vocabulary. Most years I would wind up with an entirely different roll of students by the end of the year because of the migrant workers moving on to different farms and new families moving in. I loved teaching these children because they were always respectful and willing to learn as much as they could. The parents were always supporting and willing to do all they could to help their children. I never had any discipline problems to deal with which gave me way more teaching time. I loved every bit of this great experience. One fall day I decided to do a food experiment with the children and we explored different tastes of spices. It was quite an experience to see the reaction to different flavors from cilantro to cinnamon. I guess word got out that I liked to cook and one of my student's grandmother came to the scheduled parent - teacher conference. She spoke no English and I had to wing it in my broken Spanish. We got through with the fact that her Grandson was doing very well and to keep up the good work with him. It was a challenge and I seemed to understand most of her dialogue. At one point she indicated that she had something very special for me. She reached into her large bag, pulled out a bundle, and gently unwrapped a hand embroidered cloth and it revealed a small ceramic pot that she had with her. She was talking the whole time and I got smatterings of family and tradition and recipe in the mix. When she lifted the lid of the pot a wonderful smell of chili reached my nose. I peeked inside and there was the most wonderful mix of chili and beans that was much different from the traditional American chili that I was familiar with. As I tentatively tasted it, because I thought it was going to be real spicy, she gave me this recipe all in Spanish. It was mild and not too hot. It was the best tasting chili that I ever had! She told me it was a family recipe from her home town of Oaxaca, Mexico. I got paper and pencil out right away and began taking down her recipe. She got a kick out of me trying to write and eat at the same time, but it was so good and it was past lunch time and, yes, I was hungry. This is the only way I cook chili from now on and my family loves it. Of course it included meat among the other ingredients. Recently I have cut down on the meat intake and am exploring meat substitutes. I have discovered a new vegetarian meat substitute that works perfectly. It doesn't get all mushy when cooked in the chili. I love the convenience of this one pot meal because it allows me to keep working on my art as I am now retired and a visual artist. During the COVID-19 pandemic I found this to be a great and easy meal to cook allowing me to concentrate on my painting and work at home without having to cook every night. My husband is very happy that he is able to have a bowl any time he wants and sometimes for lunch as well as for dinner. This pot can last for a good three days in the fridge and the last bit is great on hot dogs to make the greatest chili-dogs ever! The recipe follows:

1 teaspoon Coconut oil

3 garlic cloves chopped fine

1 package BOCA Veggie crumbles

2 tablespoons Liquid Aminos

4 stalks celery chopped medium

2 tablespoon chili powder

2 teaspoons onion powder or ½ chopped onion

2 tablespoons fresh Cilantro

Lowreys seasoned salt to taste

1 teaspoon black pepper

1 can diced tomatoes

2 cans tomato sauce

1 can organic black beans drained/ rinse

1 can organic northern white drained/ rinse

1 can organic kidney beans drained/ rinse

1 can organic baby Lima beans drained/ rinse

Sear garlic in large pot with coconut oil. Add meat when garlic is browned and stir together. Add celery and cover until steamed. Add seasonings and stir together. When meat is browned, add the diced tomatoes and tomato sauce and simmer together. Drain and wash the beans and add them last, stir and cover the pot, let simmer low for about 30 minutes. Stir often to keep from settling and then serve.

Suggest: Serve with homemade sweet cornbread, Hawaiian bread, garlic bread. Shredded cheddar cheese or cheese crackers add a zest. My husband loves hot sauce or sliced fresh jalapeno peppers sprinkled on top.

ENJOY!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.