Feast logo

Vegan Tuna Salad

Saving the oceans one "tuna salad" at a time.

By Carolina BenoitPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Rumor has it we are going back to the office soon and that brings me memories of the office's lunchroom and the smelly lunches my coworkers and me so much enjoy (not): The dreaded microwaveable garlicky leftovers, the awful boiled eggs with salad, and the worst of all: tuna and it's variations. Just thinking of the smell has me hoping I was quarantined all over again.

Thankfully, I have the solution you and your coworkers will forever love me for! I created this recipe after years of eating tuna, thinking it was somehow healthy, putting up with the awful smell and my coworker's eyes rolls, and then finding out that by eating it I was not only contributing to the destruction of complete marine ecosystems but also consuming high amounts of mercury which are very damaging to my most precious organ: my brain.

Yes, tuna is complicated, from its fishy smell to the way it's caught, and the amounts of mercury in its body, it's time someone reinvented this classic and made it not only healthier but also less smelly. I love this salad, not only it fills you up, but it's also full of nutrients. Chickpea is motly a carb, so I would suggest topping this salad with hemp seeds, if you are working out to add a bit more protein. Since this salad is vegan, you don't have to worry about refrigerating it at the office, making it the perfect carry-and-go lunch. Most importantly, your office won't smell like fish!

S E R V E S : 4 people

P R E P T I M E : 10 minutes

I N G R E D I E N T S :

- 2 cups of pre-cooked chickpeas or you have the easier option of buying ready to eat chickpeas. You have the option of buying 2 bags of pre-cooked chickpeas (14.1oz each) or using canned chickpeas, just make sure the can is BPA free, Non-GMO (Optional but healthier for you)

- 2 stalks of green onion

- 1/4 cup of finely chopped cilantro

- 1 Lemon

- Olive oil to taste

- Salt and pepper to taste

- 1/2 avocado smashed

- Optional: micro greens, 1tbsp of veganaisse, and hemp seeds.

INSTRUCTIONS:

Mash the chickpeas, with a fork making sure that you leave some whole pieces for extra texture. I also like to use an avocado masher as it's easier to press the chickpeas with it, and it creates the perfect texture.

Lightly Mash the avocado separate from the chickepeas. Leave some chunks of avocado and make sure you don't overpress.

Fold the green onions, cilantro, olive oil, salt, pepper, avocado and lemons into the mix. (optionally add the veganaisse) Fold the avocado.

Top off with microgreens and serve. You can top off sourdough, or stick it inside of a pitta, I also love it as a salad topper just like I would tuna salad. Remember that the key of any succesfull salad is texture, so adding hemp seeds and even the micro greens will give this salad the perfect dimension and nutrients to keep you full throughout the day.

This recipe can be store in the refrigerator for up to two days.

Give me your thoughts! Is tuna really so awful? And if you tried this recipe did it taste better than tuna? This is one of the most popular recipes from my meal plan and I love that my kids ask for it at least once a week, not to mention all the amazing nutrients they get from the chickpeas and the avocado. Lastly, let's just take a minute to think that our oceans need us to eat fish more responsible, and replacing you canned tuna is not only contributing to a better planet, but also telling tuna companies to fish responsibly. We owe our beautiful oceans that.

recipe
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.