Feast logo

Vegan Aventure

My experience with going vegan

By Hannah SmithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Vegan Aventure
Photo by Vegan Liftz on Unsplash

Hi, I'm Hannah. I am Vegan and I thought it would be fun to come and tell you about my experience in going from eating meat to going vegan and all the things people don't always talk about when you change over to a different food lifestyle.

I have been vegan for 2 years now. Prior to that I was vegetarian for a couple months and before that I was pescatarian. I first cut out land animals and I only ate fish and things that came from animals, like milk and eggs. Then I cut out all meat all together no more fish. From there I decided to cut out animal products all together. At first It was weird, going from eating cheese and eggs and having the easy freedom to go to restaurants. But with cutting out dairy and eggs things got more challenging, looking at all the ingredients on the containers to make sure I could eat it. I became more aware of what I was consuming. Things I used to love weren't vegan and I had no idea. It was so crazy to really see what I was consuming. The beginning was no easy step, I had just completely cut out 90% of what I would normally have for dinner. No more cheese pizza, which was my favourite thing to eat. I couldn't eat fries from restaurants because so much stuff contained dairy. It was crazy the reality check I had. But slowly as I started exploring vegan foods things got easier and more fun. I got more creative with my food, I started liking foods I never liked before, I started feeling so much better. I didn't feel sick after eating and I didn't feel gross as much either. I felt better. I was able to do more, I felt like I could do more. Of course there were some challenges. My B12 dropped to an ultimate low, I couldn't walk because I didn't have enough in my system. I then had to take B12 pills twice a day. I was getting tested to see if I had to get it as a needle because my body just couldn't absorb what I needed. There were things that I had to do that I didn't do before. New vitamins, new pills because the ones I had weren't vegan.

I started to learn more about myself, I learned the things I need with vitamins and I learned how mentally I felt better when I ate vegan. Soon after going vegan I found out how many allergies I had. I was allergic to everything I was eating. My doctor told me to only eat chicken, rice and Potatoes. I told him I'm vegan I can't he said well that's all you can eat because you're allergic to too much. I was getting told to stop eating veggies and fruits all the things I loved. All the things I ate everyday. I was told to eat chicken again that, that was all I could eat. I left and I continued being vegan and I watched how I would react to the things I was eating and somethings I had to cut out because it was too bad. Gluten, I had to cut that out. So I am vegan and gluten free and there are certain veggies and fruits I can't eat which makes things even harder.

Overall going vegan was only a positive experience. I learned more about my body and who I was. I learned about what I was consuming so much more. I started liking foods I had never liked before. I can 100% say that even trying to be vegan a couple days a week, or even reading whats in what you are eating can change a whole lot for you. Vegan isn't for everyone but just trying it sometimes, not being against the idea will open your eyes to a whole new world of food.

Stay safe my friends

Love,

Hannah

vegan
3

About the Creator

Hannah Smith

Hi, I'm Hannah! Welcome to my story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.