Feast logo

Up in Smoke

Finding community around an open flame

By Matthew WoodallPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Up in Smoke
Photo by Casey DeViese on Unsplash

I can't remember the last time that I cooked over an open fire, at least not anything more than hot dogs or marshmallows. At one point, it was a regular occurrence, as much a part of my life as school, sleep, and cereal. Even though it's been years, the smell of an open fire still brings me back to those wonderful moments of family and community around an open fire.

Camping was a part of the fabric of our family when I was growing up. Not a single summer of my childhood went by without us spending a week or more at a campground of some type. At first it was in a tent trailer, but as my sisters and I grew older, we transitioned away from the relative comfort of a trailer and into tents - with all of their challenges and possibilities.

I can still remember waking up to the sizzle of bacon in a cast iron pan, accompanied by the wafting scents of smoke and maple. They indicated that breakfast was imminent, and that another day of adventure was upon us. As I grew up, they also indicated that coffee was likely ready.

But they also signified much more than just breakfast. They were signals that we were more than just fed: we were cared for, and we were loved. More often than not, it was my dad who was tending the food and the fire upon which it was perched. I'm sure he would have loved to sleep in, but he knew that we were awake, or would be shortly.

This act of selfless love, the love of a parent, is one that I've tried to carry with me throughout my life.

As I grew older, the faces around the fire changed. Family was often supplemented, and sometimes replaced, by friends. The meals changed as well, getting to be more elaborate as our skill with open fire cooking grew.

Breakfast remained the same.

Eventually, I got old enough to be the one tending the fire and cooking in the cast iron pan. Whether it was family or friends, it was always special to be the one who was up first and to make sure the faces around the fire were fed. While it may have sometimes led to a nap later, the act of ensuring that people are well-fed in the morning is something that I have always treasured being able to do.

Having done it myself, I appreciate the sacrifice made by my father - and all those who have fed me first thing in the morning - even more.

I haven't had many opportunities to go camping in the past decade. Circumstance, employment, and debt have conspired against me and kept me away from the campground. I think it may be time to change that, and introduce my daughter to the joys of cooking bacon over an open fire first thing in the morning.

Soul Breakfast

Ingredients:

  • 1 Open Fire
  • 1 Cast Iron Pan - adjust quantity to suit the number of people being fed
  • Bacon - enough to fill everyone's belly
  • Family and Friends - adjust quantity to suit your preference

Light the fire using your preferred method - I suggest the log cabin method for even, consistent heat.

Place the cast iron pan over the fire, making sure to have a suitable protective mitt so you don't get burned when handling the pan.

Open the bacon and place it in the pan.

Cook until desired crispiness is reached.

Share freely with family and friends.

recipe
1

About the Creator

Matthew Woodall

I'm a writer, father, husband, and insatiably curious about the world around us and the people who inhabit it. The ideas included in my stories are mine and do not represent any of the organizations I am associated with.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.