Feast logo

Top 10 Trader Joe's Snacks You Need For This Quarantine

By: Kayla Hakimian

By Kayla HakimianPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
Like

If anyone is a snack queen it is me. I know it is bad but you can truly find me snacking, especially during this quarantine at all hours of the day, I mean it, literally 24/7! For those of you who are just like me, you probably know how bad it is to snack all the time! Especially if the snacks you are eating are very bad, you can gain weight, break out in pimples and more, but there is an alternative, and that is what I am here to give you now. You know those one of a kind snacks you can only get at one place that are your favorite? That place for me is Trader Joe’s. Walking in there is like walking into Disneyland for me, and I couldn’t help but find myself buying the same yummy addicting yet a little more healthy (or so I like to make myself believe) snacks over and over again once or twice a week. The staff there are so nice, they give out samples of anything you want, and they are always clean. The lines usually move quickly and I literally am always smiling when shopping there. While all the food there is super yummy, what has attracted me most have been the snacks that they sell there. They are all delicious and healthier than most snacks and honestly when I eat them I genuinely feel better than when I eat other snacks. Being there so often has had my friends and family wondering what is there that I love so much and they’ve asked me to share those things and reasons with them multiple times so I figured why not share them with you too?

Here are my top ten snacks to inhale from Trader Joe’s:

10. Spicy Cheese Crunchies

This snack is a much healthier version of hot Cheetos and, if I say so myself, a little better. They are the perfect amount of crunch and spicy and one of those snacks that you need to have water next to you at all times, you would never believe what the nutrition facts tell you, but Trader Joe’s doesn’t lie (I hope)! They are charmingly cheesy and satisfyingly spicy in every possible way. And what’s even better is that they are made without any artificial flavors or synthetic colors, and if I’m being honest, I can taste that truly. If you’re looking to replace your hot Cheetos addiction with something a little healthier but still be able to fulfill your craving, this snack is definitely for you!

9. White Cheddar Corn Puffs

If you had a Corn Pop addiction like I did as a little kid then this is definitely the snack for you. The texture of the snack is incredible and it fulfills such a pirate booty craving but is definitely healthier! It comes in a huge bag and they are extremely light on the stomach. The only issue is the guilt I feel after I finish the whole bag by myself :/ The whole bag is a total of like two dollars. Crazy right? I can’t even get a bottle of soda at a restaurant or concert for that price anymore but at Trader Joe’s I can get a huge bag of corn puffs for it? Wack bro.

8. Organic White Truffle Potato Chips

Anyone else here obsessed with all things truffle? I know I am, so when I saw this sitting on the shelves of Trader Joe’s, I knew I had to try it. The second you open the bag the smell of truffle hits your nose immediately and it is heavenly. Before trying them when I decided to buy them I thought it would be pretty hard to be on point with that heavenly truffle taste, but of course Trader Joe’s hit it perfectly. They are on the more unhealthy side but definitely worth it for a cheat snack!

7. Organic Corn Chip Dippers

These chips are absolutely awesome. They have this amazing aftertaste that leaves you wanting more and more. They are great to dip into salsa, guacamole or queso, as you can probably tell from the name of them. You might not be craving them all the time but the second you put one in your mouth you get that craving back right away. They also have a Mexican style street corn flavor of them which is great too but I like to keep it simple with the original! They remind me of fritos which I used to love as a kid.

6. Inner Pea Crisps

I never thought I would like a pea snack considering I don't like peas but this snack changed my mind! It is delicious yet healthy and a great way to fill your hunger while you're waiting for dinner to be made. They are a good alternative to snacking on potato chips or candy yet also fulfill your snack craving. They are very light and good to give to kids as a snack next to their lunches! They have the texture of Cheetos puffs which made me like them even more! The peas are semi sweet and satisfactory, and can even be good on top of salads! They're super cheap and a real steal too!

5. ABC Bars

If you’re looking for a quick snack to bring to work, school, or even the gym, this is the snack for you. Made with almond butter and cocoa, they are the perfect combination that leave you wanting more. They are chewy, chocolaty, oat based, almond butter-filled, and everything you need to fill you up quickly before or after a workout or meeting. Another plus is that these bars are vegan! So to all my awesome vegans, this one’s for you ! ;) Almond butter is a healthier option than peanut butter, and I think just as yummy, so when you pair it with a chocolaty taste, they go incredible together!

4. Movie Theater Butter Popcorn

Yup! Exactly what you read! This popcorn is (almost) as yummy as movie theater popcorn. Of course it's not JUST as yummy but pretty close in my opinion for its nutrition facts. The size of the bag is great and perfect for hosting a movie night, and you do not have to wait for popcorn to pop in the microwave. It is a much healthier option yet still extremely tasty. I am a big popcorn girl, as in when I go to the theaters, I get a whole large popcorn to myself. Popcorn is one of those snacks that go down like water for me, so when I found this healthy alternative, I grabbed it because I know I would rather be inhaling the Trader Joe’s Butter Popcorn rather than the actual ones from the movie theater.

3. Roasted Seaweed Snack With Salt

I personally, am a HUGE seaweed lover. Seaweed is a constant craving for me and has a special place in my heart so when I tried these it made me really happy. They come in a pack of 8 and are extremely delicious and inexpensive (as most things are in Trader Joe’s). With the perfect amount of salt, I found myself eating sometimes two packs of these a day. They're super easy to travel with and are very light yet filling and have a teriyaki flavor as well! I bring them to work with me and snack on them just to fill my belly in between meals when I get hungry!

2. Kale Chips

I am a big fan of kale, I love kale salad, kale on my sushi (I know, I'm weird!) and in my smoothies, so when I saw these I knew I had to try them. They are dressed with cashew butter and tahini and are absolutely deliciously crunchy! They are so healthy and such a good way to fill a snack craving without wasting calories on other things like Doritos. If i'm being honest, after I eat them I genuinely feel better about myself. They're a tasty alternative to regular chips… and did I mention that they are gluten free!?

1. Rolled Corn Tortilla Chips Chili and Lime Flavored

CALLING ALL TAKI LOVERS!!!! Okay this is my absolute number one go to Trader Joe’s snack because I am obsessed with takis! I used to keep a bag of takis in my nightstand at all times but I soon found myself gaining a bunch of weight so when Trader Joe’s came out with this incredible option, I instantly fell in love. Although they don’t taste just like takis I have learned to make them equal and understand that you can’t always get what you want! The flavor is super yummy and extremely addicting, I have found myself reaching into an empty bag of these way too quickly way too many times.

So there is my list. Completely redesigning my pantry and transforming it from the classic potato chips, Doritos, and hot Cheetos to my go-to Trader Joe’s snacks will seriously make a difference in your life and the way your body feels, I know it made a big difference in mine!

list
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Hakimian

for fun

Insta: Kaylahakimian

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.