Feast logo

To the Avocado

A Love Story, of Sorts

By Edith (yesterday4)Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Disclaimer: I have never made my avocados so pretty!

Oh, avocados! You have been in my orbit for most of my life, though my feelings towards you have changed.

I remember our first encounter: me, a little girl, peering over the kitchen counter at my mother's lunch time creation. You: spread evenly over a piece of bread, tucked in gently under a soft bed of sprouts. I am not going to lie to you, avocados. Observing your bumpy skin and your green goo-ey inside, I did not share my mother's enthusiastic yum!

I am not sure when we met again, but I am pretty sure it involved the superfood catch-phrase phase I went through. I was all about the quinoa, having surpassed the point in time where I called it keen-oh-ahh, when you appeared in a recipe. Could I do it? Could I try?

Try, I did. Perhaps our second encounter was ruined because I wasn't 100% sure how to tell if you were ripe; perhaps it was ruined because I smashed you a bit trying to get you out. I cut you into even cubes and threw you into my Mediterranean salad with mild disdain. You melted--smooshed?--in my mouth, in contrast to the crunch of the quinoa. Did I like you then? Sadly, no.

It took a few trial and error events to seal the deal with you, avocado. I remember the moment just as well as the first: my best friend's wife's stagette, on the rooftop patio of a bustling pub on Whyte Ave. I was a few drinks in, which I don't think hurt your case; also, after a morning of manicures and pedicures and bridal festivities, I was starving. We got a bowl of guacamole to share.

I owe you an apology, avocados. There you were before me in all of your green glory, and I scooped you up with one of my all-time favourite food vessels, a trusty potato chip. You were cool against my tongue, a welcome relief in the scorching sun. I was hit by a bright burst of lime mixed with the sunniness of cilantro, and... was that garlic? It was garlic! How could I hate something that included one of my favourite spices! How could I begrudge your weird smooshy greenness, with all the maturity of a toddler!

This, I could get behind. It took all of the manners I possessed to not scarf down that whole bowl. All you need all this time was seasoning (and a not unhelpful side of chips). I think I fell in love with you.

My penultimate experience with you, dear avocado, took place in Paris. I was on my most cherished bucket list trip, exploring the war sites in France and Belgium with my aunt. It was our last night there, and we treated ourselves to a fancy restaurant. I ordered you essentially all your own; you were unadorned with anything, besides an oil based dressing in your centre. You were so fresh in my mouth--fresh enough that I regret not breaking down that dressing and copying this dish at home. Leaning back in my chair and taking a sip of red wine (is it Paris without it?), I watched the foot traffic through the window, full and satiated. You became a part of my travel dream.

Now, I use you all the time, avocado. Since we're past first impressions, I can put you in my quinoa salad. I can spread you on toast with just a small citrusy hit of lemon. I can mash you and mix you with yummy things and serve you on game-day, or I can have you as a healthy side to a tender slice of meat.

I have you now, dear avocado, lined up on my counter. I eagerly await your ripening.

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Edith (yesterday4)

An aspiring writer from Alberta, Canada.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.