Feast logo

Three Secrets to Eating All You Want Without Gaining Weight

How traveling led me to better eating habits

By Bebe King NicholsonPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Gelato is plentiful and tempting in Europe: photo by author

The first thing my sister asked when I returned from 16 days in Europe was whether I had gained weight. I expected to put on a few pounds. Who plans an overseas vacation with the intention of dieting?

The food, both on the cruise ship and during the 10 days we spent traveling by land, was exceptional. Meals included rich pastries, baked bread, desserts, gelato, beer or wine with lunch and dinner, and lots of entrees to choose from. Not my usual fare, but I indulged because that’s what you do on vacations.

Yet the surprising answer to my sister’s questions was No. I didn’t gain an ounce, and neither did my husband.

How could this be? I don’t have a fast metabolism. I watch what I eat at home, rarely eating three meals. My Fitbit, taking into account my age and weight, lets me know I only burn around 1800 calories a day.

So how could I eat breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert without packing on the pounds?

I mulled it over and came up with several possible reasons.

We Were Active

The first and primary reason I didn’t gain weight was because we were so active. We selected a cruise that emphasized time in the cities rather than on the boat, so every day we walked. From the moment we got up (after having breakfast, of course) we were on the move, exploring cities and countryside.

But we did more than saunter along ancient city streets. When given the opportunity, we chose tours billed as “vigorous or difficult” rather than “easy or moderate.”

Hiking afforded us some panoramic views of the countryside: photo by author

One day we rode bikes 23 miles across the countryside of Austria. I was afraid my lack of recent biking experience would make me a wobbly candidate for this excursion, but those who say once you learn to ride a bike you always remember how are right.

After pedaling cautiously around the parking lot, I began to feel more comfortable. Pretty soon I was soaring along the Danube with the Austrian countryside flashing past.

When we had an option of riding an elevator or climbing 130 steps to the top of a tower, my husband and I always opted for the stairs. He is 72 and I am almost 70, so we were usually the oldest people working our way up narrow, spiraling stairways.

I exercise at home, but it’s usually after sitting for a long period of time. On this trip, we were moving constantly, and experts now say moving over the course of the day is more beneficial than getting your exercise all at once. It keeps the metabolism revved up.

But what if you aren’t able to be this active, or don’t want to climb stairs and ride bikes?

Exercise isn’t the whole story, and that brings me to the next two things that kept off the extra pounds.

We Ate Smaller Portions

One thing I noticed is that European portions are much smaller than the gigantic, super-sized portions we serve in the United States. When I eat in an American restaurant, I leave feeling bloated. With smaller portions, I was satisfied but not uncomfortable. It felt good to walk away from a meal without needing an Alka Seltzer.

In my opinion, European portions were exactly the right amount.

But there were some exceptions to smaller portions. When we decided to try Hungarian street food at the market in Budapest, a platter of food for one was enough to feed a family of four, and my husband and I split a sandwich the size of a medium pizza.

This sandwich in the Hungarian street market was an exception to the smaller portions. Photo by author

Half the sandwich left me too full for dinner, although I did end up ordering a delicious roasted duck salad along with some wine later that night.

We Ate Lots of Fresh Fruits and Vegetables

I mentioned the pastries and bread, but there was also a lot of fresh produce. At almost every meal, we enjoyed a varied selection of fruits, vegetables and salads.

Fish, usually baked, was a popular entree, along with lamb and duck. There was also a lot of beef, but I generally opted for fish.

When one of my traveling companions ordered fish and chips at a Salzburg beer garden, we were surprised to see a whole baked fish in a basket along with the fries. This isn’t what fish and chips looks like at home!

The fish and chips were not what we expected: photo by author

One way to try different foods and still maintain your weight is to eat plenty of fresh fruits, vegetables, and salads. I also ate a lean protein with most meals, and my husband and I generally shared a dessert.

Since food was an important part of our trip, I attended two cooking classes, one for making apple strudel and the other one for Hungarian goulash. The strudel, made with fresh apples, is a high-calorie dessert, especially when topped with whipped cream or ice cream. But it’s irresistible, and I enjoyed it two days in a row.

The other dish I learned to cook, Hungarian goulash, is filling and nutritious, packed with vitamins and protein. It made for a satisfying lunch, but if you’re watching your weight, don’t eat the bread and butter or paprika spread that’s usually served along with it.

Staying active throughout the day, eating smaller portions, and consuming lots of fresh fruits and vegetables are the reasons I was able to indulge without gaining weight.

Food is one of life’s great pleasures, and it’s even better if you can enjoy it and watch your waistline at the same time.

Here’s the recipe for Goulash soup, in case you want to try it at home. If you don’t mind the extra calories, eat it with freshly baked bread and red wine.

Recipe for Goulash Soup:

1 1/4 lbs beef (shank, neck or shoulder)

1 large red onion

1/2 tsp ground carraway

1 clove garlic (crushed)

Ground red paprika powder (sweet)

1 medium carrot

1 medium parsley root

2 bell peppers

1 medium tomato

2 stalks of celery, including leaves

14 oz potatoes

Pasta pieces (pinch. egg dough, one egg, one spoon of flour, salt)

Chicken broth (you can use water, but broth is better)

Preparation:

Cut the meat into 3/4-inch cubes. Peel and finely chop the onion. Heat the oil (or pork fat, not olive oil) in a large pot (12 cup capacity), then fry the onions until they are translucent. Add the crushed garlic, then the quartered tomatoes and the chopped bell peppers and fry it briefly. This will add consistency to the soup.

Add the meat and stir for a few minutes. Remove pot/cauldron from the heat and season the soup with red paprika powder (for the beautiful color and traditional tastes), salt, pepper and caraway seed.

Add broth to the pot and cover it with a lid. Leave the soup to simmer gently for another 20 minutes, then add the peeled and diced potatoes to the soup, simmer for another 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, prepare the egg, dough, pinch it into small pieces and add them to the soup once the meat and vegetables are soft and cooked. The celery leaves should be added right after the pasta pieces. Cook another 5 minutes. Serve hot.

Enjoy!

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Bebe King Nicholson

Writer, publisher, editor, kayaker, hiker, wife, mom, grandmom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.