Feast logo

Thoughts of an Unsophisticated Baker

No matter how many times I attempt baking cookies, I always end up having roughly the same concerns.

By K MonetPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

2 minutes in: “I need baking soda, but all I have is baking powder. Will it matter if I just use baking powder? What’s the difference, anyway? Also, does it matter if it’s three years old?”

4 minutes in: “This kitchen is a mess. I could swear it was clean two days ago.”

5 minutes in: “Is that rust on this cookie sheet? Are cookie sheets more prone to rust than other kitchen items? How do normal people keep their cookie sheets from rusting?”

7 minutes in: “Should I put this measuring cup in the sink or keep it out in case I need it again? I’ll need to rinse it off before using it for a different ingredient—I don’t want anything to get cross-contaminated. I can’t put it down on the counter, then it’ll get covered in germs. Was the drawer this came from even sanitary? Am I overly paranoid about cleanliness?”

10 minutes in: “I don’t want to use a paper towel only to throw it away, but I don’t want to have to wash a cloth towel...OK, seriously, which is more eco-friendly? Throwing away a paper towel or using the water to wash a cloth towel?”

12 minutes in: “Which is the bigger one, a tablespoon or a teaspoon?”

12.5 minutes in: “How come there’s a half teaspoon but no half tablespoon?”

14 minutes in: “Why does every cookie recipe have you add a tiny bit of salt? How important is the salt, really?”

15 minutes in: “Is it bad that I just use the first chocolate chip cookie recipe that comes up on Google? I feel like I should have a recipe that’s been handed down for centuries. Or at least a favorite one.”

18 minutes in: “I don’t have a one cup measuring scoop that’s clean, so I’m just gonna use this half cup scoop and double the number of scoops.”

20 minutes in: “I lost track of how many scoops of flour that was...I think it was six but it might have been five. Should I split the difference and add another half scoop? It’ll either be half a scoop too much or half a scoop too little, both of which would be fine. Probably.”

22 minutes in: “This dough is so dry...should I add water? More oil? I don’t want to mess with the recipe, but I really can’t mix it if it’s this dry...”

25 minutes in: “I cannot, for the life of me, scoop cookie dough into reasonably-shaped balls.”

26 minutes in: “That one doesn’t have enough chocolate chips...let me move some from over here.”

27 minutes in: “This lump of cookie dough is really weirdly shaped...hopefully it’ll get more cookie-shaped as it bakes. How do actual bakers make their cookies come out so round?”

28 minutes in: “How many cookies are you supposed to be able to fit on one cookie sheet? Aren’t they going to spread out in the oven?”

29 minutes in: “OK, they’re in the oven. Now the real treat—eating the cookie dough.”

29.5 minutes in: “Eh, the dough tastes pretty good, so the cookies should be fine.”

39 minutes in: “The recipe said to bake for ten minutes, but they still look pretty uncooked to me...”

54 minutes in: “It’s been twenty-five minutes, they’ve got to be done by now.”

55 minutes in: “There is not enough space to cool all of these cookies.”

58 minutes in: “Should it take me a whole hour to bake cookies?”

65 minutes in: “Well, they turned out a little weird, but they’ll do the trick.”

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.