Feast logo

Thee Barbecue Rib

Ode to My Beloved

By Nicole FergusonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2022
9
C’est Magnifique

Summertime has arrived. The sun is perched in the sky being every bit of disrespectful as the temperature soars above 90. Yet, this weather and time of year serves as a call, similar to that of a mating call in the wild, to those who hold the barbecue as the champion of warm weather dining events. Shortly after noon, preferably on Saturdays since the festivities at a barbecue can lead to a food hangover that may trickle over into the beginning of the work week, the air starts to fill with a scent endearing to us all – savory smoky fumes of lit charcoal on a grill. We all know that smell; that bouquet broaches ideas of good eats and cold drinks. Barbecue connoisseurs are able to detect whether the aroma is coming from a grill using propane, wood chips, or charcoal briquettes.

For us, yes I am included, who are reformed BBQ elitists since our conversion to healthier plant based food options, the summertime barbecue season can trigger a relapse. Granted, I have evolved within my new body green lifestyle so I can reliably discern what qualifies as a true great bite of food across dietary practices. I took the slow train on my journey to veganism. I started out as a flexitarian as canceling meat immediately and eternally was simply going to cause a separation of the heart and mind. It was a death sentence. I worked my way through being a pescatarian, delighting in all the ways I could prepare my salmon and red snapper dishes. Then the day broke when I stepped out on faith and allowed cancel culture to even take fish away from me. I canceled fish hard! I made it social media official when I edited my bio to include Vegan. I figured why prolong the inevitable with a short stop at vegetarian. I just ripped the bandaid off. One might mistake that valor as the fortitude necessary to thwart the temptation of a BBQ event where vegan eats were not on the menu. The idea of grilled zucchini and eggplant sliced thinly sprinkled with shredded Parmesan versus a slab of pork baby back ribs slathered in a tangy although slightly sweet secret recipe homemade barbecue sauce was enough to make any diehard vegan salivate and ponder their life choices.

I extend my sincerest apologies for sauntering into a brief chronicle about my own internal turmoil during barbecue season but there is no way for me to have a discussion about summer’s most glorious palatable eat without sharing my struggle. I am referring to the illustrious barbecue rib. It may perhaps even be considered synonymous with BBQ and summertime.

While the master chef prepares the grill for its divine mission, the topliner of the summer barbecue event is the ambrosial menu options. All high quality, 5 star, BBQ events must include the following:

• Baked beans – doctored properly. They can’t just come straight from the can.

• Potato Salad – not macaroni salad, not pasta salad

• Watermelon

• Wine coolers, Corona (with lime), and other alcoholic beverages

• Sweet Tea

• Lemonade

• Grilled corn on the cob – elotes preferably! If you know, you know.

• Grilled hamburgers

• Grilled hot dogs

• Barbecue chicken

• THEE barbecue rib

The ribs though are the pinnacle of any barbecue gathering without which you are merely having a meal with some grilled food. I am betraying my vegan path by stating this but we all have to choose the truth when speaking, right? Pork or beef ribs are the best choice. Yes, there are some mean vegan “ribs” recipes but honesty must prevail! There is not a vegan recipe out there that has mastered the texture and pure intense flavor of a properly grilled rib. A rib that is seconds beyond being undercooked where each bite is like biting a moist meat cake. The meat releases from the bone gently resembling the same movement of sliding off broken in slouchy socks.

This favorite summer food essay has become my ode to my beloved summer bite. When “she” is grilled to perfection barbecue sauce is not even a requirement. It is well known amongst the barbecue elite that a fabulous barbecue sauce can be used to hide imperfections. Hide but not eliminate. Conversely, the right sauce with a gooey consistency can bring a flawlessly grilled barbecue rib to levels of stupendous ecstasy. As a barbecue rib pundit I proclaim with unyielding conviction that none of the friends and family gathered, the other tasty menu choices, Frankie Beverly singing “Happy Feelings”, nor another rendition of the electric slide can topple the ascendancy of the barbecue rib.

cuisine
9

About the Creator

Nicole Ferguson

Hey! I’m trying to get back into things that I really enjoy - reading & writing! Life is so overwhelming coupled with the internet that I have been separated from two of my truest loves. For all of you who read what I pen bear with me.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Shyam Sathishabout a year ago

    Amazing writing. You can also go through my Writings. - SShyam

  • Ha Le Sa2 years ago

    Nice work

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    What not to love with BBQ ribs in the summer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.