Feast logo

The Truth About Soya

Is it actually bad for you?

By Paige MakepeacePublished 5 years ago 7 min read
Like

Hello everyone, I hope you’re well. So, I bet you’re all thinking that soya (you know that stuff that is in a lot of what we eat and comes from a bean) is really good for you, right? If you’re dairy intolerant, or vegan, you probably drink soya milk as one of your alternatives, right? If you’re vegetarian or vegan you also probably eat a lot of tofu, which is full of soya, right? Or fake meats made of soya? Well, unfortunately, you are wrong. Shocking, right? A bean not actually being good for you. Especially a bean which has a place in a lot of the food and drink we consume, including a lot of chocolates, shop brought breads, doughnuts, cakes, biscuits, SOY SAUCE, etc. It is in a lot of food that we consume and it is not doing us any favours.

So, what is actually bad about soya, you may ask. Soy is a phytoestrogen, in other words it is a plant based estrogen. Soy contains two isoflavones, named genistein and daidzein, which behave like estrogen (you know, the primary female sex hormone). Now estrogen plays a role in everything to do with the female body, including breast cancer, and reproduction, so, as you can imagine there is quite a bit of controversy surrounding soya.

Now, there are many studies trying to find if there is a link between soya and the likelihood of cancer, and none of them have shown anything. However, these studies tend to be done on animals who metabolise things differently and are just different in general to humans. So they aren’t very trustworthy. Also the rates of cancer are increasing so maybe this is one of the factors that are causing that increase. Also, there are a lot of studies out there that haven’t been published because the results weren’t favourable, in other words, they didn’t find what they wanted to find and so they didn’t publish it. Let’s also take into account that studies aren’t always very reliable in general. They may not have a good number of participants, whether they be human or animal, and the other variables also may not be good enough to reliably confirm the links, etc. They also do just look for a link between these things, there may be other factors determining the cancer, not the soya. But still it is possible that there is a risk.

As well as the possible cancer risk that comes with soya, there are other things also. For example, the extra estrogen in a woman’s system can have a negative effect on their periods. Take this from someone who knows. I have had difficulties with my periods for years, earlier this year I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovaries, and I used to have a lot of soya in my diet. But since finding out about these things I have greatly cut out the amount of soya in my diet, looking for foods and drinks that don’t contain soya and choosing them instead, and I am in less pain when on my periods (I haven’t had as bad cramps), my periods are more regular, and they aren’t as heavy as they used to be. They also don’t make me sick anymore so if you struggle with any of those things then I suggest cutting as much soya out of your diet as possible and it will help.

The estrogen in soya can also lead to bigger boobs, for both men and women. So, if you want to reduce the size of your boobs cut out soya and they will get smaller. My sister didn’t like having larger boobs, but she ate a lot of soya in her diet, more than I did, and now that she has cut soya out of her diet as much as possible her boobs have gotten to a more manageable size. Cutting soya out of your diet can also help you to lose weight. As someone who suffers from Polycystic Ovaries it is important that I keep my weight down, but I always struggled with losing weight and keeping at a healthy weight when I was consuming soya everyday. But now that I have cut it out of my diet as much as possible I am finding it easier to lose weight and keep the weight off. So, if you need a place to start in your weight-loss I highly suggest cutting as much soya out of your diet as possible.

Polycystic Ovaries and similar things can also be caused by excess soya, or the estrogen within it, because the extra estrogen causes a hormonal imbalance that lowers progesterone and increases male hormones in women. These male hormones are part of polycystic ovaries and it is that which cause the extra bodily hair growth, weight gain, etc.

Now I am done with the lighter stuff? I am going to move on to a slightly sticky subject. Before I start, though, I would like to say that I strongly support the LGBTQ+ community, okay. I have friends and family who are part of it. And I am, I think, possibly bisexual with a preference for men because there are some women I find attractive. I do support you all, okay, but is anyone wondering about the increasing number of people who are part of that community? Yes, it may be partially because people are, on the whole, supported if they are part of that community. There isn’t as much need to fear the repercussions of being gay, etc. now than there was years ago. So that may be a contributing factor.

However, since the companies that produce our food and drinks have started putting more and more soya in our foods, the number of people in this community has drastically increased. This is because the estrogen, when consumed everyday by a man, for example, can confuse them, it can make them feel more feminine, it can make them grow boobs, etc. This could explain why there are an increase in men who feel like they should be women, because the estrogen in their system confuses their mind, and makes them feel feminine, or like men. And this can start from the very beginning of life as a lot of baby formula milk contains soya now, meaning the estrogen is getting into our babies and possibly causing all of this.

I am not saying that soya is turning people gay or anything. I am just saying that it could be a contributing factor, because if it was biology then there would have been this many people who were part of this community years ago, when it wasn’t okay to be this way, and surely they would have tried to be accepted by society sooner rather than pretend to be something they aren’t. I don’t know. I am just saying that maybe we should cut soya out of our diets as much as possible so that our systems aren’t filled with more estrogen than we need. I mean, we all know that too much of certain things in our bodies is bad for us, right? We all know that our body produces and keeps only what we need, and we don’t need anything extra, when it comes to hormones and things anyway. So why do we need all of this extra soya that is disrupting our periods, and confusing us? I feel so much healthier now that I am not getting much soya in my diet. And I think that you would too if you decided to cut it out.

You can look into all of this yourself, of course, as well as things about other food and drink. Dr. Josh Axe on YouTube is great when it comes to health, food, drink, etc. He even has some videos on soya, and polycystic ovaries. And, of course, it is up to you what you eat and drink. But be careful, always look into things, always question things that people say is good for us. Because a lot of the time they are wrong.

Anyway, I hope you are all well, and I wish you all the best in life.

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Paige Makepeace

Hi, I am Paige and I love to write and be creative, I am hoping to be an author/screenwriter one day. I also love cooking, baking, art, etc. I am English, I live in England with my mum, dad, and three younger siblings. I am a nerd as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.