Feast logo

The Struggle To Find Food

Having food allergies

By Kristin WarePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

ALLERGIES

Let me be the first to say that having allergies and sensitivities to food is a struggle and it 100% sucks!! Finding out you’re allergic to foods that you regularly eat and like definitely throws a wrench into the machinery of your life. One moment everything is fine and dandy and the next the things you would eat on the regular are suddenly a danger to your health and happiness. I am currently a sophomore in college, and near the end of the first semester of freshman year I found out that due to health issues I have that my body had developed a number of serious food allergies and foods I might be sensitive to.

WHAT NOW?!

My doctor walked me through my allergy test and I found out that I am allergic to eggs,dairy,wheat,gluten, corn,soy,almonds,cashews, peanuts, and Brazil nuts. Obviously my immediate reaction was WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO EAT NOW???!!! One moment I’m normal and can eat what I please and the next i can hardly anything! It is a difficult time, it is a whole new world that you’re not sure how. to navigate, so you go for A trial by fire.On my food journey thus far I have found that trying to find food that is free of all of those allergens is a struggle! Having so many things that i am unable to eat really made me wish that someone had put together a list of foods they have tried that actually taste good, that are also free of all of the allergens i must avoid. Alot of people aren’t aware of the common allergens that are in their food.This is exactly why I am here. I mean a good majority of potato chips from the store have corn in them!!Most of your favorite candy will have corn syrup in them! Loads of other foods will have nuts or corn snuck into them.So if you’re like me and you’ve had your world rocked with some food allergies, fear not I’m here with a list of things i have tried that are actually really good, but won’t give you an allergic reaction.

  • Products you should try!
  • Fit Joy grain free pretzels
  • Black forest organic gummy worms
  • Free2b mint and sunflower cups
  • thrive market beef sticks
  • Cape cod potatoes chips
  • Madegood granola bars
  • Siete grain free chips
  • Bobos bites
  • Jovial grain free pasta
  • Glutenfreeda instant oatmeal
  • Sweet Laurens cookies
  • Simple kneads GF Bread
  • Smashmallow dark chocolate dipped marshmallows
  • Dang Thai rice chips
  • Lesser evil paleo puffs
  • Feel good foods chicken potstickers
  • Daiya dairy free cheese
  • Cocomels caramels
  • Kevins bbq sauce
  • Maya Kaimal curr sauce
  • AgaInst the grain brownie mix
  • Lotus foods rice ramen
  • Vans glute free waffles
  • Alexias hash browns
  • Alexias fries
  • Jeni’s dairy free ice cream
  • applegate hot dogs
  • butterball bacon
  • Sprouts dairy free mochi
  • Gold peak peach ice tea
  • kettle and fire broth
  • Simply lays potato chips

These are just a few of some amazing allergen free products that have become some of my favorites! But again for your personal allergies alway read the labels before consuming food you might be allergic to! I have also found some great recipes that I like to make such as an amazing dairy free Alfredo, breakfast poppers,tandoori burgers, and some great desserts! If you’re dealing with new allergies, First word of advice don’t take the chance always read the label first! Take it from someone who has had way too many allergic reactions ad popped too many Benadryl because label reading wasn’t done as precisely as was necessary! To anyone who is reading this I hope you found this helpful! If you have any questions or if you’re looking for more products or recipes please feel free to reach out!!!

Have a great day!

Kristin Ware

list
3

About the Creator

Kristin Ware

Just a stressed college student who likes to write who is trying to survive life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.