Feast logo

THE ONE SECRET INGREDIATE FOR MAKING BREAD PUDDING

HOW I LEARNED TO MAKE BREAD PUDDING

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
MOMS IS THE BEST BREAD PUDDING

There isn't anything better than eating Bread Pudding. In my Italian family, my mom made the best bread pudding. My dad loved it so did I and my sisters. My mom would put raisins in it and when she took it out of the oven we all could not wait to eat it. Sometimes she would serve it to us with ice cream. Boy was that good we all wanted more bread pudding with ice cream. My mom liked to cook and bake and taught me and my two siblings to cook and bake too. Making bread pudding is pretty easy but if you have never made it before it could be overwhelming. In my Italian family, my mom always made sure everyone ate first. Then she would serve her self last and eat. No one walked away from the table hungry.

The best thing about growing up in an Italian family is food! The food is great and I prefer Italian food over any other dishes. I also like German food too especially the food my mother-in-law used to cook. But I have a nack to bake bread pudding, and when I do bake it people love eating it. The bread pudding recipe that my mom handed down to me is great. I love to make it and all my friends love to eat it. When I go to visit our friend I have to make a lot of it because they love it so much. Sometimes I bring ice cream and serve it with the bread pudding. As the years went by I discovered a secret ingredient to put in the bread pudding. The secret ingredient is Nutmeg.! I also put Cinnamin in the bread pudding too! Here is the famous Bread Pudding recipe:

Pree Heat the Oven on 350%

Take a baking pan and spray it with cooking spray. This is so the bread pudding will not stick to the pan.

In a bowl add 6 to 8 eggs and beat the eggs well.

Add 1 teas. Nutmeg.

Add 2 teas. Cinnamon.

Add 1 teas. Vanilla

Add 2 cups of granulated sugar

Add 4 cups of milk

Stir the ingredients together really good\

Add 1cup rasins (Optioanal)

Butter 8 slices of 2-day old bread and layer the bread in the pan.

Add the Egg and Milk mixture over the bread. Let the bread soak in the egg mixture for about 15mins to 25mins

Bake at 350% for 25mins to 30mins

Let cool for 30mins

Serve alone or with Ice Cream

I hope you would make this recipe and enjoy eating it as we do! It is easy to make and great all year long especially on holidays. I am a senior now and I have been making bread pudding for a long time. I could remember eating bread pudding at the table with my mom. Sadly she and my dad are no longer with us. My mom always wanted to go back to Italy but she didn't get to go. I would like to take the trip to Italy but there are a lot of reasons I might not get to do it. COVID19 is a great reason for me to stay home and stay safe! But maybe just maybe I can make it happen! If I did go to Italy I would want to eat Bread Pudding, and all the other Italian dishes.

My mom talked a lot about living In Italy, she and my grandpa would be talking Italian. Sometimes they would speak in English and I would listen to them talk. I knew some of the Italian words but my mom never taught me to talk Italian. If a miracle happens and I do go to Italy I would want to learn the Italian language. The old saying goes: Better late than never! It is a true saying that my mom told me! She had a lot of these sayings and most of them are true. My mom was an amazing woman she taught me how to make Italian dishes. Bread pudding was one of the dishes taught to me. I am very glad I know how to cook and bake. She taught me and my siblings all the things we know how to do. I am glad I know how to do a lot of things and that I taught my daughters how to do them.

Sadly my mom and dad are no longer with us. They are in heaven and one day I will see them. But in the meantime I will do what my mom taught me to do. Which is to be a good woman and do the best I can. It is what I strive for every day of my life. Even though my parents are not here on earth I want to make them proud of me! It is why I put my best foot forward at everything I do. One of the things is baking bread pudding!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.