Feast logo

The most delicious gratitude-trigger

We need it and we deserve it, now more than ever.

By Chelsea SpackPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
The most delicious gratitude-trigger
Photo by Nathana Rebouças on Unsplash

This Thanksgiving, I’m thankful for chocolate. Because dear God, we all could use some freakin’ chocolate after the year we’ve had. But really, I’m thankful for chocolate because of what it represents. Chocolate is a state of mind. Chocolate is slowing down and smelling the roses. Chocolate is luxury. Chocolate is simplicity. Chocolate is being in the moment and enjoying life.

If there’s one thing this year has given me, it’s perspective on what really matters: loving people, being in the moment, and not taking small, simple things for granted. I’m SO thankful for the small things, many of which seem to be on hold for now, such as: conversations with strangers, the people-friction in a crowded subway in NYC, concerts, being around groups of people in general, seeing SMILES in a grocery store...

But there are many, beautiful, small things that are NOT on hold: meals with family, deep conversations with friends, and the beauty of everyday that comes with the awareness that life is a precious gift and the moment is not to be overlooked.

So, chocolate represents pausing and taking in the moment. It symbolizes savoring the here and now, enjoying life, and not taking anything for granted. Life is short, and much of what once seemed important has surfaced as insignificant and shallow.

I no longer have time for petty, rushed moments. I am living intentionally, and this includes taking a bite of delicious and decadent chocolate, breathing, reflecting, and making an effort to truly BE there, wherever I am.

The past few months I’ve also learned the value of self-love. The more I love and value myself and carry a sense of worthiness, the more I will treat others with love, openness, and value. The better me I can be, the better vessel of love I can be for my family, friends, and the world.

I’ve created a luxurious morning ritual for myself that signals to my brain to return to the present moment, and reminds my soul that I am loved, I am worthy of love, and life is beautiful. It goes like this:

I settle into my morning by sitting near the window with a cup of hot coffee and a piece of dark chocolate. The act of sipping coffee and then taking a bite of chocolate slows me down and awakens my senses. It brings my awareness into the present moment. I begin journaling, reminding myself of all the things I’m grateful for, and setting intentions for my day. Beginning from this place of presentness, I find a greater clarity, calm, and simplicity of mind comes to me, and helps shape my entire day.

This feeling of luxury that chocolate helps create reminds me of my intrinsic value and the potential I hold to make a positive difference in the world TODAY. Today is all I have and all that matters right now. Giving myself this time of focus and peace allows me to interact with those around me in a more loving and effective way. I repeat: the better me I can be, the more capable I am of making a difference in the lives of others. Chocolate reminds me that I deserve love, my family deserves love, everyone deserves love.

As I take a bite of chocolate, I’m reminded that everything is ok right now, in this moment. The future may seem uncertain, and the past is already gone. But here in this very moment, I’m ok! I don’t have to worry. I can be here, right now. I can be thankful. I can truly love myself and love others. Thank you, chocolate, for being a simple reminder of what really matters: this moment.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Chelsea Spack

I love life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.