Feast logo

The Hearts of Calgary, Alberta

Dedications

By Kendra J. AnthonyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Hearts of Calgary, Alberta
Photo by Spencer Davis on Unsplash

The Hearts of Calgary, Alberta

To be honest, I can’t choose just one local restaurant, so I’ll do a couple dedications to a couple of my top favorites that have won my heart. From ones I had just found out about, to ones I have known my entire life, and all the delicious delicacy’s on the way.

Pie junkie, you won my heart last night. The melt-in-your-mouth crust was phenomenal. The guts of the chicken pot pie, the peas mixed with carrots, onion, chicken and gravy, and whatever else you mushed together was beyond this universe. I’ve never been a fan of pie crust until now, I voluntarily ate the crust first, going around and around with my fork, leaving the tasty insides for last. Normally pie crusts are dry and flavorless, I don’t know how you did it but I salute you. You changed my pie-world, my pie-being.

On top of that, the coconut cream pie -insert drooling- with the tiny, cute edible flowers, full of rich, coconut goodness and creamy whipped topping; I cant even begin to describe, but I can say though, I am truly your number one pie junkie. Both pies were gone in matter of minutes, and for my boyfriend, seconds. I didn’t even get a chance to try his key-lime pie before he inhaled every bite.

Canadian Brewhouse, you are there for me on the roughest of hangover days. I don’t think I would have ever survived with out your mouth-watering, brisket shepherds pie, bacon wrapped, cream-cheese stuffed jalapenos, or fried pickles. On days where we couldn’t find a taco place, you were there for us, on the taco bout’ it Tuesdays. On days we wanted ribs, Dry-rib Mondays. How about wing nights, you welcomed us with wing-tastic Wednesdays. Nights with you are forgettable, so thank you.

Govenor’s Pub, I’ve known you since before I could even walk, ever since my mama worked for you and the owner would baby-sit us on late nights if she had to be there. I remember counting money with Mackie, and eating fruit loops before the doors would open; playing that silly pirate and sword game with my brothers. I loved when you gave us the key to the pool tables and the duck hunter games so I could toss around the pool balls into the holes, never actually learning the rules. I remember all the board-games they hoarded behind the bar for us kids. You weren’t just a pub to me, you were my morning routine, my mama’s place of work, my family. To this day you hold a special place in my heart. I remember the artwork my talented brother did on your chalkboard years ago, and you didn’t have the heart to ever take it down, its still there ‘till this very day. You may not get much business, but you’re the heart of the community, and I forever cherish your service.

Marv's Diner, the cute retro diner of Black Diamond, AB. I could never forget your hospitality, skipping class to enjoy one of your famous milkshakes, turning on the jukebox and dancing the afternoon away. You brought a vibe of the 50's and I cant wait to enjoy your crisp milkshakes once again this summer.

There is so many amazing restaurants in Calgary, its impossible to just choose one, and not nearly easy to talk about every single one. So to every food place that has helped in the curbing of my hunger, I thank you. To all the places in Calgary, in Alberta, or even through out Canada, you deserve a dedication as much as any other restaurant, especially in these trying times. Trying to stay open and keep business running has not been easy, and that’s why I encourage people to keep buying local. Keep these businesses in tact, because one day we may never see them again.

restaurants
Like

About the Creator

Kendra J. Anthony

She was a gnomist, a writer of beliefs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.