Feast logo

The Cottage Cheese Deception

Or: What Grossed Me Out Today

By Caitlin PingelPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
The Cottage Cheese Deception
Photo by Ivan Timov on Unsplash

Is there a better time waster out there than watching Facebook videos? I mean, I don’t know about all of you, but nothing sucks me in more than a never-ending series of short videos auto-playing one after another until I blink and realize that I’ve been watching 5-Minute Craft clips for three and a half hours and it is well past my bedtime. It’s a trap I so easily fall into that sometimes I become completely numb to the randomness I’m consuming. But today? Today is different.

By Austin Distel on Unsplash

See, normally when I slip down the rabbit hole that is watching Facebook videos it’s not really on purpose. I am just clicking around and a video starts to play and then bam! I’m done for. But now that I work at home I’ve found myself wanting to try new recipes, especially for breakfast, so this particular video caught my eye and for once I actually actively hit play and unmute. I know, right? Crazy. Anyway, this video promised to teach me new and exciting ways to have "dessert for breakfast." And hey, I like both of those things so I figured it couldn’t hurt to check it out, right? I assumed (reasonably, in my opinion) that I would learn some new super sugary pancake recipes or something, and I was pretty excited because I do love me a good sugary pancake. But, friends, that is not what I found.

I will give you that the oatmeal "breakfast cookies” could pass for a dessert breakfast, and actually looked pretty good. It probably would have been nice to have that recipe back when I wasn’t working at home and inevitably valued five extra minutes of sleep over starting my day off with a well balanced meal in the morning. I’d go so far as to say they are actually a pretty great idea for a person with a sweet tooth on the go. And the carrot-cake inspired health bread stuff could probably pass as a dessert breakfast too, if you squint. It kind of toed the line in my opinion, but I could see someone considering it almost a dessert. After all, I’ve met people who suggested I eat some bell peppers when I said I was craving something sweet. So. Crazier things have been considered dessert, is all I’m saying.

By Chad Montano on Unsplash

But then. Oh, my friends, but then. Then the creators of this video suggested that I dress up two scoops of cottage cheese with various fruits and nuts, top it with whipped cream and a cherry, and call it a breakfast banana split. And I am LEGITIMATELY ANGRY about it. HOW DARE these people sully the good name of a classic and beloved ice cream treat this way? I know it’s not unusual to have cottage cheese for breakfast, okay? I know that some people really like it and that it’s actually pretty good for you. It’s not for me, but hey, I try not to judge. That is, until you try to sell it to me as a BANANA SPLIT. The dish itself probably isn’t even that bad for someone who enjoys cottage cheese, but it is no way shape or form even remotely close to a banana split and therefore I submit that this video is built upon a PLATE OF LIES and a willful, nay, DANGEROUS disregard for taste buds everywhere.

You all may think I'm overreacting. You may think my anger is irrational and unnecessary. But all I can say is that I for one do not want to raise my possible future children in a world where people think it is okay to market a cottage cheese bastardization of a banana split as anything other than a miserably failed experiment that should be immediately thrown away and apologized for. And yes, it should be noted that I am exaggerating for the sake of comedy. If this unholy scourge of a breakfast idea appeals to you by all means, enjoy your vomit-inspired meal with my blessing.

Oh, and also, in case you were wondering: No, I do not like cottage cheese.

cuisine
2

About the Creator

Caitlin Pingel

32 years old and still trying to figure it out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.