Feast logo

THE BIG QUESTION IS WHATS FOR DINNER?

I ASK THIS QUESTION ALL THE TIME

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
THE BIG QUESTION IS WHATS FOR DINNER?
Photo by Jakub Kapusnak on Unsplash

I have asked this question when I was growing up. My mom must have heard me say this a lot! Usually, it is up to the woman to figure out what she will cook for dinner! It can get really hard to think of different recipes to cook each night. But that can all change if you have a plan. Meal planning should not be hard it might take a little time to do but in the end, it is worth doing. The best way to do this especially if you work 9-5, is to have a notebook. Put one column for the date, and the day of the week. The next column would be the name of the meal; for example, Spaghetti and meatballs The next column write down the ingredients for the meal that are needed. If you have to buy an item then write the item on the grocery list. By doing this simple task now you have a plan. You have a plan of what recipes you want to make and a separate list to buy an item. Do this for all seven days of the week.

COOKING WITH THE INSTANT POT SAVES TIME IN THE KITCHEN!

By MChe Lee on Unsplash

There are many different dinner ideas you could come up with. Italian is one of them, you can have a pizza night. Have the kids help you make it, this is how they will learn to cook. Chinees is another good healthy dinner to cook. Mexican is another, if you like tacos then make tacos. I am half Italian and I grew up eating pizza and all the dishes my mom cooked. If you have the right tools, like having an Instant Pot it would help you tremendously! I like to cook spaghetti and meatballs. The food is very good and it takes only 15 minutes to cook. Another useful tool to buy is a Rice Cooker. There are many other items that will also make your time and effort far less complicated. I would be lost without these two items. If you do not have them it would be wise to purchase them. The Instant Pot has a button for slow cooking too. It also will saute and you can even bake a cake in it. Another tool you should have in your kitchen is the Food Processor. Chopping up nuts or other food is easy and fast. And one should have a blender, so you can have a smoothy if you wanted.

One time I came home from work and my kids said they wanted tacos for super. I did not know what tacos were, I told my girls we will go to the store and buy the food needed to make them. When we arrived home my kids showed me how to make tacos. I was glad both girls were old enough to cook. That night we had a great taco meal and I was proud of them for knowing how to cook. The moral of the story is that if kids like to cook then they should do it. Now married my two girls are great cooks because they were taught at a young age. They both have husbands who love their cooking. My girls have the question asked to them Honey What's For Dinner!

COOKING TOGETHER IS GREAT TO DO!

By Edgar Castrejon on Unsplash

When two people cook together they make their relationship with one another better! It is an activity of accomplishment in which they both did it together. Some people do not know how to cook and they have to buy already made food. Frozen dinners are expensive and they can get very tiring after a while. If you do not know how to cook there are many things you can do to learn. One of the things is YouTube which's right YouTube! When I want to know how to do something I watch YOU TUBE! I learn many things and usually, the project turns out alright. One of the things I learned to do by myself by watching it is how to use the Instant Pot! I also learn other projects to do around the house. I live alone and have only me to do what I need to do if something needs repairing.

GROWING YOUR OWN FOOD

By Danylo Suprun on Unsplash

Growing your own food is one of the best things one can do. Gardening is not really hard to do. You need to have good soil because plants grow better. You know that your work has paid off when you harvest the garden. Harvesting the garden at the end of the summer will benefit you and your family. It is less expensive than buying the food at the grocery store! And much fresher too. Gardening takes time and a little work on your part. You get to grow what you want and what you like to eat. Lettuce is great to grow there are several different seeds you can buy. I like to get the lettuce that is called Roman. Last year I grew lettuce and was harvesting it every two weeks. So keep in mind if you buy Roman lettuce seeds you will have to harvest it quite often. I also like to grow my own Herbs too, Parsley is one herb I use often in recipes. Mint is a herb that I grow and use in many recipes too. If you are up to it go ahead and give gardening a try.

Well, that does it. What Do You Really Want For Dinner! All too often the woman in the house does not cook what she wants! She cooks to please her family and friends. My mom always asked me are you hungry can I fix you something to eat. I ask my kids the same thing when they are at my home visiting me. I say cook what you want once and a while your family will not mind. I hope this post gave you some ideas for the old question. Honey What Is For Dinner!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.