Feast logo

THE BEST SALMON IS COOKED THE ALASKAN WAY

COOKING SALMON IS NOT ALWAYS AN EASY TASK TO DO.

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1
THE BEST SALMON IS COOKED THE ALASKAN WAY
Photo by Caroline Attwood on Unsplash

I did not know I loved to fish until I came to Alaska to live! I did go fishing with my dad a few times but I was very young. We went fishing for flounders. or flatfish, they like to be on the bottom of the sea. In Alaska, the fish are called Halibut and they can grow over 500lbs! I went Halibut fishing with my husband and caught a 90lb and my husband caught one at 250lbs. They can grow very big in the Alaska waters! As a family, we came to Alaska in the year 1978. We learned real fast how to fish for salmon and other fish. My husband loved to go hunting and fishing, all the outdoor activities. Living in Alaska is way different than living in the lower forty- eight states! When summer hits the one activity to do is go fishing and fill up the freezer. Alaska has long winter's and the fish which was caught will be of help in your wallet.

At the end of May, many people go to Kenai Alaska to fish for King Salmon. The Kings come in the Kenai peninsula first. Then they make there way up to the Susitna Valley. King Salmon could weight up to 75lbs or maybe more! All Salmon come to there birthplace and spawn then they die. The kings are the biggest of the Salmon, I caught a 35lb and my son-in-law caught a 55lb one. When you have a King on your line it is a lot of fun and a lot of work! Sometimes you can fight the fish for over half an hour! I love it when I can say FISH ON! Fishing for any salmon is fun, but fishing for King Salmon is great. To bring one into a net is a happy feeling and a big deal! I have seen many fishing poles break! I like to have at least a 40lb line on the fishing pole. Some people have less and the line breaks, they lose the fish! We go to Willow to fish for Kings many people go there to fish for King Salmon.

After King Salmon make their visit, then the Reds and the Pinks come up the rivers and make their visits. The Reds are really good to fillet and cook in the oven. The Red Salmon is called that because the meat is Red, the Pink Salmon there meat is pink. Pink Salmon, it is best to smoke them. Smoking fish is not hard to do. A brine of saltwater and soy sauce will do just fine. In my days I have caught and cleaned many fish. I do not mind cleaning them and I can fillet them too. Lastly, the Silvers come up the rivers and these fish Are the best to eat. I cook them with an onion and garlic and Italian Seasonings. Fish does not take long to cook, the best way to cook the fish when you're camping is in Tin Foil I put butter or oil with onion and garlic and seasoning in the tin foil with the fish. I cook it for about 15min and then I take it off the fire. I cook potatoes in Tin Foil I put butter, onion, garlic, and salt and pepper. I let them cook right next to the fish. The best part is how good the fish and potatoes are! After you eat there are no dishes to wash!

When I am camping I learn to do things the easy way! I bring paper plates, when I am finished eating the plate goes into the fire. No dishes to clean up! In the summer camping in Alaska, you have to Be Aware Of Bears. Alaska has many Bears so if you're camping in a tent then you need to put the Ice Chest into the vehicle. It is best to keep the campsite clean because of the Bears. What we sometimes do is put black pepper around the tent. If a Bear sniffs the black pepper than he runs away. The Bears don't like the black pepper at all. Would You! No, you would not like it! Alright enough talking about Bears! I just want to make sure you're aware of them if you're in Alaska camping!. If you have a nice Motor Home that is great but still keep the campsite clean.

By Tobias Markmeyer on Unsplash

THESE BEARS ARE BROWN BEARS AND THEY ARE LOOKING FOR A MEAL!

There are plenty of Salmon to go around for humans and Bears! Salmon are great swimmers and they have to go a long way to there birthplace! The females lay the eggs and the male fertilizes the eggs. When the babies grow up they make the trip to the ocean. Some years fishing is better than others. But in the end, it truly is a great sport to do! There are many places to go fishing in Alaska. There are many fishing reports, you can look it up on the Web, the radio, and the television. When I first came up here I didn't know how to fish, I asked other fishers about fishing. I observed them fishing and also our friend taught me a lot about fishing. He taught me the fish-like calm water and fish in a spot like that. I did and I caught a lot of fish! After what the salmon go thru to get to there spawning ground wouldn't you like calm? I know I would, I like calm all the time!

The man in the picture is holding a kingfish.

By NOAA on Unsplash

Fishing in Alaska is a great experience I went Halibut fishing and loved it! I caught a 90lb Halibut, my husband had to bring it in the boat for me! I had Halibut in the freezer for over a year. I like to bread and fry the Halibut and also have french fries potatoes with the Halibut. Then I make a tater sauce to dip the fries and the Halibut. To make the sauce I take Miracle Whip, a little Mustard, salt, and pepper, and green relish and mix it all up. I serve a green salad or other vegetables of your liking! I make this dish on Fridays because I am Catholic. I grew up having fish on Fridays, I usually cook fish on Fridays. When you eat the fish you caught it is much fresher than buying it in the store. When buying fish in the store make sure to look at the date on the package.

This is the recipe for cooking Salmon:

Spray the bottom of a baking dish, put the Salmon into the pan skin side down. Season the salmon with salt, pepper, and paprika.

Add 1sml onion and 2 cloves of garlic and 2tbls of lemon juice

Cover the top of the baking dish with tin foil.

On the bottom of the pan add a small amount of water, or you can use cooking wine.

Bake the salmon in the oven for 20mins to 25mins

Take the salmon out of the oven and let sit for 5mins

Serve with tartar sauce store-bought or I make your own

This is an easy recipe to cook and the salmon tastes really good!

Many times when I was camping I would use beer or lemon and lime soda instead of water. Do not worry you will not get drunk because the beer evaporates and the fish will still taste great!

This recipe I use all the time and it is easy to cook!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.