Feast logo

The best paleo breakfast ever!

My absolute favorite paleo breakfast that keep me full and happy all morning.

By Miquela WallacePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

so let me start by giving some of my personal background when it comes to why I eat (90%) paleo.

I have autoimmune issues along with fibromyalgia. And I was recommended to eat Aip, (which is essentially the paleo diet on steroids.) while I was successful during my first month of aip, I began to realize that for my body. It wasn’t giving me the proper nutrition I needed. I almost got a similar reaction to what people call keto flu. Felt very drained of energy and just over all uncomfortable. While it helped me determine what kinds of food help heal my body, it also caused me to lack essential fats and vitamins; that are very important for proper digestion and muscle function. So I switched it up and moved more into a paleo/Whole Foods diet. And I am loving every meal more and more! Not to toot my own horn, but I also happen to be a pretty great cook.

So what is paleo? If you don’t already know, it’s “the caveman diet.” Which is thought to be the primitive food sources the people ate before we used our brains and settled and began agriculture. It is believed that the diet consists of foods hunted, and gathered from nature. Like meats, seasonal fruits and veggies. Healthy fats like nuts and seeds.

Now today we are far superior (in some ways) to our paleo ancestors. Because we have the convince of going to the grocery store anytime of year and buying the food we want rather then hunting and gathering. So modern paleo Includes things like presses oils, eggs; and nutritional supplements.

I’ve been paleo officially for about a month. After my month of aip. So roughly 2 month of eating fresh, Whole Foods. And I have created and found (and altered) some amazing recipes that have really made me feel very passionate about my health and cooking.

Cooking for me used to be a chore but now it has become a new positive and creative outlet that has lead to some pretty tasty outcomes.

This breakfast ( pictures above) is to die for!

And here is how I made it.

- half a pound of Brussels sprouts. I got the big 3 pound bag from Costco. For like $10

-one medium sized sweet potato pealed and diced. Sweet potato’s are one of my staples so I always have a bunch on hand

-2 tbsp of your choice of oil, for Healthy fats. I used safflower oil, and some ghee.

-fresh rosemary straight from my garden.

-minced garlic.

-sliced pork sausage.

-some salt and pepper to taste.

I lightly oiled a sheet pan and placed the Brussels sprouts,sweet potatoes and sausage evenly across the pan. Added the seasoning. And oil/ ghee. Tossed it in the oven at 350• for about 30 minutes. (if you want your sprouts more crispy, put them in for 30 and then ten minutes on a broil.)

After those finished cooking, I quickly fried up some fresh eggs in some coconut oil and placed those on top. And plated with a large navel orange on the side.

I’m telling you this recipe was seriously soo good, I could eat it over and over for the rest of my life!

And it really only costed me 45 minutes in the morning and roughy 10 dollars.

It’s cheap, very well balanced and nutritious.

I’m pretty proud of how well it came out, and I feel like I should share it for for others

To find inspiration in their own cooking and paleo food making.

It’s definitely worth it. And even if you don’t like Brussels sprouts I can only imagine that it wouls taste just as good with broccoli.

So go ahead give this recipe try. Don’t be afraid to dig into your creative side and add too it. Your body and taste buds will thank you for this one!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Miquela Wallace

Starting my path as a Personal Health Coach!

Grad date set 07/2021 (I.I.N)

passionate about helping others become the best versions of themselves.

Striving to live in a better world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.