Feast logo

The Best Ever Recipe For Beetroot Crisps

Super Scrummy and Healthy Too!

By Charley BennettPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Now who said being on a diet means you can't snack? It's a load of rubbish! You can have up to 3 snacks a day on my diet as long as they're under 100 calories each which is fine by me!

I love the challenge of making my snacks extra low in calories whilst keeping all that flavour you would get in something store bought or high in calories and fat.

I have a few different ideas to try which I will be sharing with you at a later date but for today it's all about the veggies!

My favourite snacks are crisps or Chips to some of you. I could eat them ALL day long! I can still eat most standard sized bags of crisps on my diet but knowing me I wouldn't want to stick to just one bag! I've found a way of making some with a third of the calories which means I can indulge in a lot more!

I'm sure you've all tried those super delicious vegetable crisps you can buy in most generic supermarkets and if you haven't then you're definitely missing out! They're so good that I thought I'd give them a go myself. Here is the recipe for my oven baked Sea Salt Beetroot crisps!

If this sounds like something you would enjoy then please give the recipe a go and see for yourself just how tasty they can be!

Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • Raw Beetroots (I used 3 as they can shrink in the oven)
  • Sea Salt
  • Low Calorie Olive oil spray

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 160°c or 140°c for fan assisted.
  2. Slice off each end of the beetroots and peel the skin completely off.
  3. Slice each beetroot using a mandoline to get the perfect thickness or if you have crazy chopping skills then use a very sharp knife but remember to make the slices quite thin.
  4. Grease a large oven tray all over with your low calorie cooking oil.
  5. Place each slice of beetroot on to the oven tray making sure they don't overlap and there is a bit of space between each one.
  6. Sprinkle over some sea salt making sure to coat each and every slice.
  7. Bake for around 10 minutes or until the beetroot has lightened in colour slightly.
  8. Once cooked leave the slices to cool as this will be the time when they crisp up and become crunchy. If some of the slices are still a little bendy then just pop them back in for a couple more minutes.
  9. Simply serve (if you can make it that far without eating them right off the tray like me!!) and enjoy!

It is so easy to do and you won't feel any guilt afterwards.

If sea salt is a little bit boring for you then why not add some cracked black pepper or a bit of vinegar to the mix? You can create so many different flavours to try so you'll be sure to find one that suits you perfectly.

If you liked this recipe then please feel free to pin it to your Pinterest boards or share it with your friends on your social media platforms.

Thank you so much for taking the time out to read this and don't forget to check out our other healthy recipes too!

If you make this recipe or want to share other ideas then make sure you snap a picture and use the hashtag #EATHEALTHYWITHME.

I love seeing what you guys make!

WANT MORE HEALTHY SNACK IDEAS?

Make sure you check out my other articles!

DON’T MISS A RECIPE.

Follow us on Pinterest.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.