Feast logo

The Best Cookies for Santa (and for your Vegan friends)

Accidentally Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

By DestineePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7
The Best Cookies for Santa (and for your Vegan friends)
Photo by Food Photographer | Jennifer Pallian on Unsplash

I'm a firm believer that no one should miss out on the most important meal of the day... which is dessert!!

So when I went vegan, I spent a lot of time crafting vegan dessert recipes. I went vegan by choice, but I know a lot of people who are vegan because of food allergies, including my nephew and a few of my close friends. It breaks my heart that they have to pass on delicious treats because they contain eggs/dairy/things they are allergic to! Especially since food is my love language!

I spent about 6 months (before going vegan) researching and baking my life away, in order to create the PERFECT, chewy, crispy, chocolatey, buttery, chocolate chip cookie recipe. I baked cookies almost every day, and after the first month, my mom who is a self-proclaimed sugar addict, told me that she was tired of cookies!! But I wasn't done yet! I knew Christmas was right around the corner and I wanted to gift all of my friends the PERFECT chewy, crispy, chocolatey, buttery, chocolate chip cookies!

Soon after creating one I was satisfied with, I went Vegan. Thats right!! A baking addict has decided to cut dairy, butter, cream, and eggs from her diet. BY CHOICE!! Without eggs, butter, and milk chocolate… I thought I’d have to say goodbye to one of my favorite treats.

But it's the holiday season! And holidays without sweets--? What's even the point?

So by using a few substitutions, I was able to create these! It took me nearly another 6 months to create this recipe that doesn't look or taste like it's lacking in anything! This recipe tastes similar to the one I created using animal products. With some good quality chocolate and a bit of love and patience, these cookies will be the talk of the socially distanced party.

Haha, here is the recipe!

Ingredients :

  • ⅓ cup vegan butter, softened or at room temp.
  • ⅓ cup packed brown sugar
  • ⅓ cup white sugar
  • 1 Tbsp Oil
  • 1 Tbsp Apple Sauce or Soy Milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1¼ cup AP flour
  • ¾ cups chopped vegan chocolate bars or vegan chocolate chips

Instructions :

  1. Preheat oven to 350*, and prep a cookie sheet with parchment paper, or lightly greased foil.
  2. In a large bowl, or in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until light and smooth. BUT NOT TOO LONG OR IT WILL BE RUNNY!! About 20 seconds on medium speed should do the trick!
  3. Add applesauce, oil, and vanilla, and mix for 10 seconds, just to combine.
  4. Add dry ingredients all at once and mix until almost fully combined. Once you have just a few spots of flour left, stop mixing.
  5. Dump in as much chocolate as you have leftover after snack-rificing**, and mix just until the flour disappears. About 15 seconds.
  6. Chill the dough if -- really, who are we kidding….?
  7. Scoop heaping tablespoon-sized balls of dough onto your cookie sheets. If you want them to be thicker, don’t push them down. You can make them larger if you want! Baking time will increase.
  8. Bake for 9 minutes for soft/chewy cookies, or 11 minutes for crispy/chewy cookies.
  9. Store any leftovers in an airtight container for up to 3 days. After 3 days the cookies are quite stale. If you don't plan on eating the whole batch, scoop and freeze your dough balls for a fresh-baked cookie later!

**Snack-rificing: (VERB)

  1. When you sacrifice your waistline for high-caloric noshery.
  2. When you decide that you would rather eat random, unhealthy things until you are full instead of adult-ing and cooking an actual meal for yourself.

recipe
7

About the Creator

Destinee

I like baking things, writing things, and drinking tea.

Instagram: @theveganbeggarsblog and @gentlewhiskbakery

YouTube: @theveganbeggar

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.