Feast logo

Sugar Sucks!

Ah yes, the nutrition freak coming back for more ways to ruin you love for good food, but what if I told you; you don’t actually like what you’re eating?

By Jessy StonePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The average American eats about 6 cups of sugar a week. Take a look at your food labels and make a list of every single food that isn’t considered dessert that has sugar in it; it is everywhere!

Did you know that sugar is addictive? I bet you had a slight idea because every single night after dinner, you’re still hungry for something more. Not your dinner though, maybe those wheat thins? Or maybe the icecream? Gosh even an extra bowl of cereal seems tasty to you and you know you shouldn’t be hungry, but there’s just that one little ingredient you crave still and that, is sugar. And I am sorry to tell you, but you are an addict.

It’s okay though! Sugar takes between a few days and two weeks to get over! You just need to actively avoid it and there are foods you can eat that help such as peanut butter, kombucha, fruit, and more. I invite you to try to beat this sugar addiction because I promise you, the food you’re eating is not that yummy.

For me, and I have to redo this every time a holiday is over, it takes about 3 days to not crave that last sugar filled meal. During this time I always wind up eating lots of peanut butter because it is what I find the tastiest during this time, but eating more protein no matter what it is is likely to help. Be careful though, because proteins, like peanut butter, often have a lot of added sugar unless you get the natural kind. Of course.

Why do you want to get over sugar though? I mean all your favorite foods have sugar and you don’t want to give those up. This is where I say the only reason you want those foods is because there is sugar in it. I became a vegetarian solely because most of what I could eat were baked goods and sweets. Mind you, I became vegan a year later and still ate a pint of dairy free ice cream every week and a box of wheat thins. After getting over the addiction though, I found that icecream is kind of gross, chocolate is even worse, wheat thins make me sick, creamer in coffee made me gag, and my cravings for sweets became a craving for vegetables and protein. Crazy how that works, isn’t it?

Not to mention the global impact of the sugar industry because of the fact we consume so much of it. Many tropical areas in which sugar cane is grown have lost large amounts of forest for the plantations and have lost large amounts of biodiversity. There are also harsh chemicals used on much of this sugar that run off into our oceans and cause air pollution. Just in case you get more inspired by your impact on the earth as a whole, rather than your own health. Furthermore, I would like to add that this is exactly what happens in every scenario in which we get greedy and mass consume certain products, in case you were wondering.

This is why I’ve got to be on the side of, sugar. Sucks! All of this food you crave when your addicted to sugar, is only because it has sugar. You don’t like that stuff, the earth doesn’t like how much you eat it, and your body doesn’t like it either. I encourage you to try to get over the addiction at least once and see how you feel. Then you can go back to your sweets if you want, but I’m telling you now, sugar sucks!

healthy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.