Feast logo

Steak Sliders Anyone? No, I'm Not Talking About Any Old Run-of-the-Mill Burger

It was the first summer wedding I've ever attended. I danced the night away with my brother and sister, drank more Shirley Temples than I could count, and was in awe during the beautiful ceremony. So many wonderful memories, the mouth-watering appetizers were just icing on the cake (not literally).

By Madison NewtonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Our table at Mad River Barn, Vermont.

It was a lovely day.

The wedding was over three years in the making thanks to Covid-19, so everyone in attendance was ecstatic to see the greatly anticipated day go so smoothly.

It was mid-May of this year, the venue at Mad River Barn in Vermont. When my family and I arrived the day before, we couldn't get over how beautiful everything was.

The main lodge was rustic with a large bar adorned with vintage glass bottles and barn board shelves. There was space to play pool and shuffle board across hardwood floors stained a deep cherry red, a quaint little lounge area looking on.

Beyond the lodge in a separate building were the guest rooms. Ours maintained the same rustic charm as the lodge with an edge of coziness we fell in love with. There were bunk beds built into the walls, and the entire room was bathed in the warm light of the lantern-style lamps found in every corner.

Needless to say however, our favorite spot was the reception area. It was more or less a giant pavillion perched on a hilltop overlooking the lodge and firepit area. Paper stars and string lights glowed as they hung in the rafters, candles burned lightly in the fireplace, and every table was decorated with eukolyptus and baby's breath.

After the ceremony, guests started pouring into the pavillion, either searching for their assigned seats, or venturing to the bar area for a glass of bubbling champagne. The newly weds made their way about the room giving hugs and smiles as the DJ set up for the evening dance party. Excitement and love filled everyone's hearts as they looked forward to the night ahead—now people just needed to fill their stomachs.

Apart from the decadent tower of tarts, decontructed peanut butter cookies, and other small desserts on display, there were two appetizers making their way out of the kitchen.

The first appetizers to make it to the serving tables were grilled cheese sliders—thick buttery toast sandwiching freshly melted swiss cheese and honey-style ham. My sister and I each tried one of these, and I have to say, we were both very impressed. My sister is a grilled cheese fanatic while I'm more of a casual fan, yet we were both struck by their deliciousness.

Then the second appetizers appeared, and the thought of consuming another grilled cheese slider over the second option went out the window. It is my humble opinion that the steak sliders laid out before us were made by an innovative chef with a dream. They wanted us all to taste them and agree that these steak sliders put the "delish" in "delicious".

While a "steak slider" might sound plain to some, allow me to explain their freshly-obtained and well-deserved high status on my laundry list of favorite foods. These heavenly sandwiches were filled with pulled steak that dissolved like cotton candy in your mouth. Topping the steak were bleu cheese crumbles that melted into the meat, binding everything together into a magical burger-like dish that put the Big Mac to shame. The fact that these sliders could overshadow a McDonald's staple surprised me, but only increased my respect and love for them.

Now, I simply must find an equivalent.

It's funny how something as simple as food can leave an ever-lasting impression. The entire wedding had an ever-lasting impression, don't get me wrong. During that wedding reception, I believe I danced harder than I ever had in my life, and that feeling has stayed with me—I have an entire playlist dedicated to some very danceable songs I heard that night. During the wedding ceremony, the brides shared some very unique vows which resonated with every family member and friend in attendance, and that feeling of love has stayed with me—it made the ceremony all the more memorable and it gave me some ideas on how I could make my future wedding very special.

Now, tasting those sliders for the first time left an impression too. They made me eager to taste the mystery entrees still to come, they made me excited to see what the rest of the night had in store, they made me feel full in more ways than one as I enjoyed them with my family, and they introduced me to a new taste that I know I will forever be chasing after in the realm of burgers. Those are sensations that don't come around very often, yet I felt all of them after just a few world-changing bites of steak slider. Who would've thought?

cuisine
2

About the Creator

Madison Newton

I'm a recent graduate of Stony Brook University with a degree in Environmental Humanities and Filmmaking. I love writing and storytelling, and I love sharing my work so I can continue to improve my written voice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.