Feast logo

Spicy Crispy Tofu

A Mrs Huston Recipe

By Pyxy HustonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo courtesy of https://www.pexels.com/@polina-tankilevitch

I REALLY love spicy foods. I swear I go through Sriracha sauce like its catsup. So, when I ended up with a block of tofu that a friend did not want to eat, I knew I needed to create a spicy sauce to make it less "boring white sponge" and more "Yummy! Can I have some more?"

After looking through my cupboard, I knew I had everything to make a nice spicy sauce that would go great with tofu.

Tofu is pretty versatile. It takes the flavour of whatever you cook it with. You can cut it up into cubes and boil, opting to serve with nothing more than soy sauce. You can mash it up and use to replace all or most of the protein in a meatloaf. Or you can so my personal favourite, cut the tofu brick up widthwise into 1/4 inch slices and fry until crispy and then toss with a sauce.

Ingredients

1 block tofu, cut into 1/4 inch slices. As tofu blocks are pretty large for a single person or even two for that matter, I ended up only using half the block. If you plan on using up the rest of the tofu within a few day, yo can store, covered, in the fridge. But if you find that you have a lot left and dont plan to use it in a few days, never fear, tofu freezes well. And when thawed, the texture doesnt change too much.

2 tablespoons Vegetable Oil - For this recipe I would say that not enough oil and your tofu will stick to the pan, too much oil and the oil can sizzle and pop. I found that 1 tablespoon was nto enough but 3 was way too much.

1 - 3 cloves garlic, minced - I happened to have fresh garlic in the house so I used a few cloves and chopped them up finely. If you have pre chopped garlic that is fine as well. I dont notice too much difference between fresh and the stuff you buy at the store to be honest. Buying prechopped saves time and your hands don't smell afterwards.

1/2c onion, minced - I had white on hand but I think id like to try purple next time. I prefer purple onions to white as they tend to be sweeter and less potent. I can eat purple onions raw but white onions - not so much.

2 green onions, chopped finely, reserve a small amount for garnish.

1T Soy sauce - I used a gluten free brand but if you cant find that near you, Tamari or coconut aminos do just as well.

1t sugar

Sriracha to taste - I used 2 T. Have I mentioned that I <3 Sriracha???

1/2c water

Sesame oil - This can be omitted but the taste of the sesame oil adds a lot to the finished product.

Cooked rice - I always have rice on hand.

Directions

Rinse the block of tofu and pat dry before cutting, widthwise into 1/4 inch slices

Heat the vegetable oil in a pan. Cook the tofu until crispy, flip and cook the other side. Set the tofu aside on a plate. I would use more oil next time as the tofu started sticking a bit. I did not get it as crispy as I wanted.

***It was suggested to me that I heat the pan first. Add the oil and wait for it to heat a little first and then cook the tofu.

After removing the tofu, while the oil is still hot in the pan, add the garlic, green onion (remember to save some for garnish) and onions. Cook, stirring until the onion softens. Then add the soy sauce, salt, sugar and water.

Allow the mixture in the pan to heat through. Then add the tofu back to the sauce. Heat through.

Tofu goes well when served over rice but tofu can be quite filling so its best to have a small portion of rice and a side of vegetables. Drizzle the tofu with the sesame oil - a little goes a long way. Trust me! Garnish with the remaining green onion and serve.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Pyxy Huston

Canadian Graphic Designer, Young adult novelist and gluten free recipe developer from Canada

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.