Feast logo

Some Carnivore Dishes

Some meaty dishes I eat in a few days

By Brent SalmonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Spicy meatballs!

This is a partial sampling of my mostly carnivore diet that I eat each week. The top picture up there is spicy beef meatballs stuffed with cheese my little sister made along with some shallots and smoked paprika and garlic. Baked at 350 degrees for I think a half hour. The beef is just regular ground beef, because the fat content is really important for your diet, especially if you’re a carnivore (or mostly carnivore).

This is an 8oz blade steak cooked well-done, pan fried in butter with garlic. I’m not a super huge fan of anything darker than medium, but it was free and done for me by my wonderful grandma so that made it absolutely delicious. Of all the foods in the carnivore (or carno) menu, I think steak is my default favorite. Due to its relative low cost (especially if you get cheap steaks you know how to prepare correctly), and simplicity to store and cook.

This was pan fried thick cut bacon I made cooked in its own fat. I really enjoy thick cut bacon, especially when it’s properly crisp. I can’t stand the half cooked soggy bacon people like to slurp down like slugs. It makes me wretch. Nobody wants parasites, cook your pork! Paper towel in the bowl is always good for wicking away the excess grease. Unless you want to try and keep it for something like cooking or candle making.

This was regular ground elk that came from a friend’s hunting trip if I recall correctly. I topped it with some strips of mozzarella cheese and Hy’s seasoning salt just for additional flavor. The regular fat content and slight gaminess of the meat makes it so tasty. I prefer game to domestic meat by a huge margin, partly because of the cost. The Deer wasting disease has me a little afraid, but fortunately it’s not come here yet so far as we know.

This is one of my favorite breakfasts; I call it carnivore breakfast cereal. Cottage cheese (full fat) with bacon bits. Only in this case it was thick cut bacon strips that were pre-salted, and I added additional pink Himalayan salt and it is delicious, cheap, and easy to make. Cottage cheese is especially good for digestion because of all the probiotic bacteria in it. I find it helps my digestion immensely. Our particular brand at home is Dairyland.

This is sautéing regular ground buffalo. It’s 35 bucks a kilo ($15.91 per pound). This is stupidly expensive, and I may have been stupid for buying it. But I found it in my meat freezer and said to heck with it I’m eating it. I sauteed it up and seasoned it as I went with Hy’s seasoning salt. S’good. Hy’s seasoning is also delicious on other things, and it’s cheap and a stable brand for season salt here in the vast cornfields of Canada.

This was the end results of the sauté. The whole pound was consumed fairly quickly and easily by me after adding a dash of paprika to it because why the heck not? My baby sister got me into using paprika since she’s far more a chef than I am, and I’m glad she did.

This is a fairly regular breakfast for me also. A chunk of beer sausage I get from the local butcher’s shop (which is about a block from my house), that I bisect, nuked in the microwave, and added some cheddar and mustard to. Like a bun made from meat. I do enjoy frying them up better, but in this case I was pressed for time and stovetop space.

And that is just a partial sampling of my carnivore diet for a week. I might start doing up actual recipes for different things and trying them and sharing them.

diy
Like

About the Creator

Brent Salmon

Dad, Dog Dad, wannabe polyglot, amateur engineer of all the things, pre-med biologist, medic, psych major, ex trauma-counsellor, programmer, artist, serial entrepreneur, occasional cyborg, and now, writer.

Facebook

Instagram

YouTube

Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.