Feast logo

Six Reasons Why You Should Have a Spurtle in your Kitchen

You will never be the same after using a set or two whenever you cook or bake

By Kathy LesterPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Mad Hungry 5-pc Silicone Spurtle Baking Prep Set w/Measuring Cup

I know what you’re probably thinking right now, ‘What is a spurtle?’ I know. I thought that too before I purchased a full set of them from QVC last Christmas so allow me to explain this to you.

A spurtle can either be made out of wood or silicone and it’s somewhat designed to be a spoon and a spatula all into one utensil.

Now before I purchased a set of these, I asked myself why I would want them if I already had plenty of spoons and spatulas laying around so I had to be fully convinced. I mean fully convinced. I found out that the spurtle actually can come in different dimensions helping you in many different ways when it comes to cooking in the kitchen.

A spurtle can be used for:

Serving: You can serve a slice of pie, pizza, casserole, a piece of cake, and so on.

Stirring: You can stir brownie mix, cake mix, cookie dough, stews, sauces, etc.

Scooping: They are perfect for getting jelly out of a jar or some peanut butter if it’s part of a recipe.

Spreading: You can use these to spread pizza sauce on a homemade crust or whipped cream on top of a pudding cake.

Smashing: You can smash anything to turn it into a sauce or use it to make guacamole by smashing some peeled avocados.

Mixing: Use your imagination. It can mix practically anything.

And the greatest thing about these is that they come in different materials:

Silicone: They are heat-safe as well as dishwasher-safe. I put mine in the dishwasher all of the time and I haven’t had any problems or issues. And they come in all kinds of different colors. I have a ‘Christmas’ house so of course, my spurtle set is red.

Wooden: The wooden ones are made very nicely and if you’re into color, they do have some that are decorated with different colors on the handles. They can also come in different kinds of wood too like acacia, bamboo, or pakka. The most common type I’ve heard a lot about is the bamboo ones. It just depends on your preference and how much you are going to use them. Many people like them because they are heavier and have more power behind them when it comes to mixing and stirring.

Spurtles can come in different dimensions and sizes as well so you can find the perfect one for any cooking chore. If you purchase a set of them, you can get a small and large one as well as a skinny or thick one. I like to use all of mine differently and it makes my life a lot easier when I’m cooking or baking in the kitchen. It’s good to have one set of kitchen tools that can do different jobs than a bunch of spoons and spatulas that only do a couple of things.

You can actually find these literally everywhere including eBay but I wanted to show you a couple of the different sets so you can see for yourself just how cool these spurtles really are:

Mad Hungry Pakka Wood 3-Piece Spurtle Kitchen Utensil Set

This is a really cool set of spurtles and as you can see, it is made from pakka wood and comes in a colorful blue design. A lot of people don’t realize this, but spurtles made from pakka are non-scratch and non-stick so they won’t damage or ruin your pots and pans. They are also very easy to wash and quick to dry. Just wash them gently with warm, soapy water and dry with a soft kitchen towel.

Mad Hungry 5-pc Silicone Spurtle Baking Prep Set w/Measuring Cup

And here we have the Mad Hungry Silicone Baking Prep Set with a measuring cup. I love my silicone set; I have the color red because I live in a 'Christmas Cottage' and everything in my home is Christmas colors. What I love about the silicone version is that they are flexible enough where they can get into the crevices and edges of bowls making it easy to remove all your ingredients and putting them into your pans to cook. They are also dishwasher-safe and you can also use them in your microwave.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Kathy Lester

I'm a published author with two major publishers, a graphic designer, co-founder of Madcap Toys, a mom to three adult sons and a Nana to five grandchildren. If you like what you are reading, send me a gift or tip.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.