Feast logo

Since I'm now living the Gluten-Free life

I decided to start a youtube channel.

By Chiwi ChefPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Oat Flour Cookies

Yes, I'm now spending hours of my life recording youtube videos to share what I know and what I like about the Gluten-Free diet and how to enjoy good treats even when you (we) have to follow it.

Also, I realize I'm not an expert by any means. I wasn't even an expert in regular baking before! Of course, I studied international pastry. And I was what you might call a pastry chef. It's just that I lacked practice.

Real practice.

I want to learn more. I want to hear the experience of others who have lived this lifestyle longer than I have.

Even if they only complain about how rough it is and how long it took them to adapt.

It would be awesome to know what they miss the most. Probably we all miss good bread. We are for sure missing it.

I've been working on the flour mix to make delicious cookies the way I remember them. I'm dying to make butter cookies more than anything else.

My husband is pretty happy with the cake I've been making recently. He is a cake guy, but I'm a cookie girl, and I need my cookies!

Am I rambling again?

Let's get back to the main point.

And here I am. In my last post, I shared the gluten-free mix I use when I bake cakes, and even though I know I should start sharing cake recipes to make more sense, the truth is I wanted to start with something simple since It's my first video.

What could be simpler than a five ingredients recipe that takes 20 minutes or less?

And it's also gluten-free.

On the downside, it uses oat flour, and I understand some of you react to oats. And on the bright side, I finally brought white sorghum flour. I will start experimenting with it shortly.

Wish me luck!

Now, about the video. I wanted to make a small batch of cookies, so I halved the egg.

To make it even easier, here it is using a whole egg:

One-Bowl Peanut Butter and Oat Flour Cookies!

1 Cup Powdered Sugar

1 Cup Peanut Butter

1 Egg Beaten

4 Tbsp of Oat Flour (1/4 Cup)

2 Tsp Vanilla Extract

With a spatula, slightly combine the powdered sugar with the peanut butter, and then add the beaten egg. Mix a little more and add the oat flour and vanilla.

It should be hard enough to scop (or even make balls with your hands) into a baking tray. Bake at 340 Fahrenheit or 170 Celsius for 10 minutes. And let them cool (Or not. I'm guilty of munching on two before they cooled)

What to expect from this recipe?

It's not a crunchy cookie recipe, so it doesn't resemble butter cookies. It's a melt-in-your-mouth recipe too, but they have their particular texture.

They are so good. I don't know if it's because they are easy. I think the effort was minimum for the amount of flavor you get.

They taste like mini soft peanut nougat. It's almost like a child between a soft peanut nougat and a cookie.

I'm not sure if in your country peanut butter is cheap. Here in Argentina, it's not too expensive (luckily because I will be making a big batch of these bad boys for Christmas and giving them away to everyone I like)

I hope the ones looking at this enjoy them as well.

Let me know what you think, maybe? Let me know if you have tried them before.

You can even use coconut sugar or honey instead of powdered sugar.

Happy baking!

(I don't know how the image/video work here, so I uploaded both)

By the way, in case you can't see it, my youtube channel is Chiwi Chef (or @chiwi_chef)

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Chiwi Chef

I'm experiencing a weird time in my life. So many things have changed without leaving me time to react. So I write about everything and anything at all. And I cook Gluten-Free. Hopefully, we will find a path together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.