Feast logo

Simple Peanut Butter Cookies

An Easy Recipe for Children

By Marilyn GloverPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Simple Peanut Butter Cookies
Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

I can remember when my children were small how much they enjoyed it when I would get out the mixing bowls and wooden spoons. Oh, how their little faces would light right up, knowing that their mommy was getting ready to bake something tasty. I recall those days as some of my fondest kitchen memories. Little ones were tugging on my shirt, asking when the treats will be ready or one of the girls dragging a chair over to the counter and climbing up for an eye level view.

My favorite cookie recipe of all time came to me in 1997. I was 26 years old and mother to three young girls ages 6, 4 & 6 months. At the time, I lived in a 3-floor apartment building and had a friend who had two little girls of her own, ages four and one. Together we had five very active children keeping us on our toes. We were busy moms with barely a moment to spare for ourselves and sometimes it was tricky getting chores done as well as preparing meals but somehow we always made it work. Play dates for the girls provided small breaks for us to chat, share stories and swap child-rearing ideas.

It was during one of these gatherings when I learned about a very simple cookie recipe. My friend called it a “children’s recipe” because there are only three ingredients: peanut butter, an egg and sugar. I thought to myself how wonderfully easy it would be for me to make this for the girls during my time consuming days. Juggling bottle feedings and changing diapers along with chores and chasing little feet takes a lot out of a mom but this unsophisticated recipe would prove to be a hit maker in my household.

The simple peanut butter cookies were always on my children’s request list from the very first day that I baked them. It is more than the delicious taste, however, that made these cookies such a winner. Since my friend had called it a" children’s recipe" I incorporated that name into the baking process. Giving the girls active roles in the kitchen made for a whole lot of fun and an activity that we could enjoy together as a family.

Since the cookie recipe only called for three ingredients there was not a lot of mess involved and this made it easier for me to teach the girls the basics involved in baking. My oldest daughter, Brittany, would measure one cup of peanut butter and set it aside. Of course, for a six year old this would be a bit messy with peanut buttery fingers, which she would always find so very funny. She said it reminded her of finger paints laughing as she washed off the gunk playfully. My four year old, Crimson, enjoyed getting the eggs from the refrigerator and cracking one over a medium bowl. Sure, she dropped an egg or two on occasion but she got better at learning how to handle the eggs gingerly. She always had this look of accomplishment on her face while she whisked the egg anticipating the next step in our pursuit of cookies.

One cup of sugar is the final ingredient in my simple peanut butter cookie recipe, which I would measure, and then let the girls take turns blending the constituents together. My last step was dropping the batter by rounded tablespoons onto a baking pan. The girls would always finish the project by taking a fork and making the crosshatch pattern typical of peanut butter cookies. The purpose is to flatten out the dough so it spreads easier as peanut butter is dense.

My family has never tired of our simple peanut butter cookies. As my youngest daughter got older, she enjoyed them and so did my son a few years later after he was born and old enough to eat them. Baking cookies is enjoyable any time of year but especially during the holiday season. Including small children in the process is a delightful experience for them as they always watch adults and want to follow mimicking their movements. Having little chefs in the kitchen is a learning experience teaching simple math, responsibility as well as safety. Under proper adult supervision, small children can be very helpful in the kitchen and what wonderful memories you can create with the loving help of little hands.

Here is the recipe I got years ago. I never wrote it down because it really is so easy. I do not know where my friend got it from but I did google “3 ingredient cookies” and it is a real thing!

Simple Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients :

.1 large egg

.1 cup of peanut butter

. 1 cup of sugar

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Line 2 rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper

Beat egg with a whisk in medium size bowl. Add the peanut butter and sugar, whisk until fully combined, and smooth. Drop dough by the tablespoonful’s onto prepared sheets spacing about 2 inches apart. Do not forget to make the crosshatch pattern by pressing lightly with a fork. Bake 10-12 minutes rotating trays halfway through. Transfer to a wire rack for cooling.

Yield: about 2 dozen cookies

recipe
1

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.