Feast logo

Simple + Delicious Chicken Pot Pie

The BEST chicken pot pie you'll ever eat, with the least amount of effort!

By Chic CopyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Chicken Pot Pie is the new Chicken Noodle Soup – it’s good for the soul, doncha think?

I’ll admit it. When it comes to cooking a legitimate dinner for my family, if I don’t have a plan actively in the works by 4:30 in the afternoon, it ain’t happening. Y’all feel me?

I’m no stranger to throwing chicken nuggets in the oven, instant mac ‘n’ cheese on the stovetop, and a can of green beans in the microwave. No shame in that! Weeknight dinners are tough. There’s no denying it.

During any given week, I’m juggling grad school classes, tennis team drill, LB’s gymnastics class, AJ’s baseball games, and family swim at the YMCA. This is all after-school pickup. Not to mention, homework assignments for each of us, a grotesque amount of laundry, and of course, feeding everyone an as-nutritious-as-possible meal.

This chicken pot pie recipe has been a staple in my dinner rotation for a decade since I was in college. *brb, doing a quick happy dance after realizing it’s been less than 10 years since I was in undergrad.* The point being, this simple + delicious recipe uses basic ingredients you likely already have on hand, requires minimal prep, and assembly is practically effortless. The pot pie needs about an hour in the oven – just enough time to squeeze in baths for the kiddos before we eat.

PS – I adapted this recipe from my stepmom, Hollie, while I was still in high school. Ten years later, I finally remember the milk to Bisquick ratio without calling her for help. As it turns out, I can be taught!

PPS – If you’re not already cooking with cast iron, let me just tell you. It’ll change your life. Here’s the deal: you don’t use soap to wash it. As in, you just use water. As in, easiest. cleanup. EVER.

Call me Paul Bunyan, but I have a cast iron dutch oven, griddle, 6″ skillet (perfect for frying eggs for BELTs), 15″ skillet (perfect for one-pot-meals and pork chops)…heck, I even have a cast iron quesadilla pan. But the one I use the most, the one I can’t live without, and the one that cooks the perfect chicken pot pie, is the 12″ Lodge Cast Iron Skillet. Few things in this life last forever. This skillet is one of them. Get yours and get cookin’!

Simple + Delicious Chicken Pot Pie

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 stick unsalted butter melted
  • 2 cups chicken breast cooked, shredded
  • 1 bag frozen mixed vegetables 12 oz or 16 oz
  • 1 can cream of chicken
  • 1 can cream of celery
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 cup Bisquick

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 350º
  • Melt the stick of butter and pour into the bottom of a greased 12" cast iron skillet
  • Spread shredded chicken on top of the butter, across the bottom of the skillet
  • Add the entire bag of mixed vegetables on top of the chicken and spread evenly
  • Pour can of cream of chicken and can of cream of celery over the vegetables and spread over top
  • Combine one cup of whole milk with one cup of Bisquick in a seperate bowl
  • Mix until combined well, mixture well be more liquid than pancake mix
  • Pour milk and Bisquick mixture over the cream of soups layer
  • Bake uncovered for 50-60 minutes, or until lightly browned on top and toothpick comes out clean
  • Cool for 10 to 20 minutes before serving

Oh! One more little hint I forgot to mention…My go-to trick for making this dinner easier than it already is (if that’s even possible) is to buy a rotisserie chicken (or two) and serve that for dinner on night one with a side of veggies, rice, and cornbread. I then chop the leftover rotisserie into bite-size pieces and use those remnants as the chicken for the pot pie. Bonus: rotisserie chicken is already perfectly seasoned and makes for an awesome flavor addition!

Here’s to this fail-proof weeknight dinner serving your family as wonderfully as it’s served mine!

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Chic Copy

HI! I'm Jess. I am a single mom, parenting two little people, and am currently in the first year of my graduate program, working towards my Master of Arts in Counseling. I hope you enjoy reading my pieces as much as I enjoy writing them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.