Feast logo

Scrumptious stuffed cabbage rolls baked in rich creamy tomato soup!!!

Comfort food...

By Jacqueline PaynePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
jaki's cabbage rolls!!

My day began around 5:30 a.m in the morning like every day in my week.I work online as an ESL teacher for a company in China,"DaDa ABC, an amazing fun platform to make a living and do what I love best,"teaching children of ages 5 -16,conversation in English.Feel so grateful for this job..

I got done with a very successful classroom time around 9:45 a.m and heard a grumble in my tummy..I knew immediately ..I was hungry for something but did not know then ,exactly what...Hmm!

As I gathered my computer from my classroom office and walked myself up to the living room of my home on the first floor...my mind was ticking about what I should cook for my hubby and me which will make me feel warm and cosie and cabbage rolls came to my mind..a perfect choice for a cold and chilly day.

I knew I had some beef mince in the fridge and also a fairly large cabbage not forgetting a big portion of cooked sticky white rice..Sipping on a warm cuppa black tea, watching Martha Stuart ..my brain stormed and I just found my self walk to my fridge and gathering all the ingredients for my Stuffed cabbage rolls in creamy tomato soup,jaki style...

Well since this is a recipe swap challenge I take the privileged to share it with all of you..Enjoy!

I do not follow measurement and stuff, I just go with feel ,touch and taste...It is basically a personal choice of how much you want of quantity and taste..

Ingredients for 12 cabbage rolls and creamy tomato soup:

12 fairly large cabbage rolls

A medium size bowl of beef mince.

2 medium sized bowls of cooked sticky rice..(cooked or stale up to you)

1 large onion-finely chopped

1 large tomato-chopped in cubes

4 spring onion leaks-finely chopped

3 cloves of garlic pealed or skins on-chopped

A thin slice of minced ginger.

1/4 tsp of chilly flakes

1/4 tsp of chilly powder

1/2 a cup of freshly chopped celery

4 or 5 fresh basil or in the bottle.

1/2 tsp celery powder

I table spoon of chopped fresh dill, rosemary and basil.

I medium size tin of tomato concentrated soup.

1 cup of milk(any kind will do)

1/4 tsp white vinegar

Parmesan cheese in a bottle.

Pepper and salt to taste.

Method to cook:

Put your mice into a hot pan and fry until you see it shed oil.

Strain the oil from the mince through a sieve into another small bowl.

Take about three teaspoons full of the strained oil and put into your hot pan along with a tsp of butter then throw in your chopped garlic and ginger and fry for a bit .. add your chopped onion and spring onion leaks.... sauteed for a while now add the mince and mix...add salt ,pepper,red chilly flakes, chilly powder and chopped celery..mix again.. continue mixing..when you begin to get the aroma of the herbs add the cooked rice and mix everything really well..now add a generous sprinkle of Parmesan cheese and mix again..turn the fire to low and let cook gently...Once you see that everything is incorporated and has a nice sticky texture..turn it off.(to test take a hand full and make a ball..if you get a perfect ball it is done..taste to make sure it is to your liking..now remember, taste is up to you entirely)

Once your stuffing is ready get on with preparing your soup..You have a choice of any kind of concentrated tomato soup( a medium tin will do ..other than if you want more,is up to you)

Heat two tsps of beef oil in a deep saucepan and Saute chopped onion , garlic celery,dill ,rosemary and basil(fresh or dry) until translucent add the tin of soup and mix gently(turn heat to a low to prevent burning)...then add cup of milk along with salt ,pepper... (to taste )..next add 1/4 tsp of white vinegar and mix well...let it gently simmer until all the ingredients are in incorporate in your soup.Taste to check it is according to you liking

It should have a tangy,sweet,sour and salty tasty and should be creamy to taste and see..Once done turn off an take it of the heat.

Next in a big pan..fill it half up with water ..sprinkle a pinch of salt to speed up the heating process...(you should have already de veined your cabbage leaves ...to have two equal halves and set aside)

When the water is hot enough gently put four cabbage leave into the water and let it rest there until you see the leaf look partially soft and malleable(in order to roll)

Take out each leaf gently and cool on a paper towel..repeat the process until all leaves are done.

Stuffing :

Lay a cabbage leaf on a cutting board and spoon a generous amount of stuffing onto one end of the leaf..Tuck the end closer to you over the stuffing..then tuck the sides over on both sides over that...then gently but firmly roll into a tight cabbage roll...place the roll horizontally in a baking rectangular shaped baking dish...repeat this process until your dish is full.Now gently spoon the creamy tomato soup over each roll until all of them are evenly covered..pour the excess tomato soup into the dish..garnish with chopped basil leaves and place into a preheated over of 340...let it bake for around 30 minutes ..remove form oven and let your "Scrumptious stuffed cabbage rolls in rich creamy tomato sauce" rest for about 5 minute...and plate ...enjoy the magical explosion of flavors lighting up your taste buds with joy....Yummielicious!!

Until my next recipe....

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.