Feast logo

Salted Caramel Banana Poke Cake Recipe

A Sweet little Coffee cake Recipe...

By Tori MontaniPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Just 2 days ago I was so bored I could've screamed. I mean I was really bored, man. So, while making dinner, I decided to make a little dessert. I didn't want to make cookies, mainly because I did not have most of the ingredients. I also didn't wish to make something overly sweet. I looked around my kitchen and the fridge, I found some blueberries that desperately needed to be used. Great! I thought I would make a blueberry crumble or some kind of coffee cake. That's what I started to do. However, to my disappointment, some of the blueberries were starting to turn white and fuzzy- which means mold! I frantically fished all of the berries out of my batter and looked around for another fruit to incorporate into my creation. I found nice, yummy bananas. I added a dash of cinnamon and sliced up a ripe banana to place on top of the cake.

I popped my cake into an oven at 350 degrees F. While it was baking for about an hour, I checked on it periodically. It was coming along famously, and about halfway through the baking process I decided to add a salted caramel glaze over the top of the cake. I wanted the glaze to caramelize over the bananas. So, in a bowl, I added about a half cup of brown sugar, cinnamon, a dash of extract, real butter and salt and melted it down in the microwave. Once the glaze was ready, I gently poured it over the coffee cake. I poked a few holes inside the cake, to allow the brown sugar mixture to seep into the batter itself as well. I did this about 45 minutes into the baking process. Finally, when the cake had finished baking, I took a pastry brush and began working the hot caramel all over the top of the cake. that had pooled to the rim of the baking dish that I was using . After my spur of the moment cake had cooled down, it was time to taste the banana caramel treat. It did not disappoint, especially the crunchy salted caramel topping! Now, I'm going to share the recipe with ya'll! Try it out and let me know what you think. This is a great cake to make if you have company coming over and you didn't have time to either grab a cake of a pie.

Banana Caramel Poke Cake Recipe:

Preheat over to 350 Degrees F

In a bowl combine:

1 stick butter, melted

2 eggs

1\2 cup milk

1 Tbs lemon juice

3 Tbs cake batter extract (or a really good vanilla extract )

2 Tbs cinnamon

2 cups flour

1 cup white sugar

1 Teaspoon baking soda

1 sliced, ripe and happy yellow banana (even with a few brown spots)

For The Salted Caramel Glaze:

1\2 cup brown sugar

1 pinch of cinnamon

1\2 stick butter

A teaspoon of extract (vanilla, cake batter, or even maple would be delicious)

3 tbs milk

Directions:

Preheat your oven to a toasty 350 degrees. Next, grease a baking dish. ( I used an 9x9 baking dish.) Assemble all of your wet ingredients, then give it a quick mix in a stand mixer. Then add the white sugar, then slowly add the flour, baking soda and cinnamon. Mix. Pour your batter into the prepared baking dish, add your peeled and sliced banana on top of the batter. Place into the oven and bake for 45 minutes. Add your caramel glaze on top of the cake. Finish baking the cake until cooked thoroughly and golden brown. A good way to make sure a cake is done is to insert a toothpick into the middle of the cake, if the tooth pick comes out clan, the cake is ready. Make sure to allow time for cooling! Once the cake has cooled, slice it up and serve!

Hope ya'll enjoy this recipe and I hope you try it out! Let me know how this li'l coffee cake turns out for you!

Thanks for reading!

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Tori Montani

Hello, My name is Tori. I'm from a little suburb just outside of Pittsburgh, PA. I was born on August 11, somewhere in the nineteen-nineties. My favorite color is a toss up between crimson red, or emerald green! I love animals & nature!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.