Feast logo

Rosso Veneto Glazed 'Romeo and Juliet' Ribs

Red Wine Glazed Ribs

By Sweet NothingsPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Go buy now!!!

Pasqua ‘Romeo & Juliet’ Passione Sentimento Rosso Veneto:

Deep ruby red in colour. The nose has intense aromas of red berries with hints of spices. The palate is balanced with velvety tannins, and it has a soft and round finish.

THE BEST WINE YOU'LL EVER BUY

I'll be the first to tell you, I am NOT a wine guy; however, one of my brother's closest friends recently decided to unload a few bottles of wine, some beers, and the most delicious whiskey I've ever had (more on that later).

I had to link the liquor first. Anyone who has sat at my table has probably tasted the wonder of alcohol and food being married in perfect harmony.

To be fair, I wasn't planning on bathing my ribs in wine.

I set out my day like any good rib cook. A nice, dry rub down of seasoning into the intercostal tissue of my ribs... but... then I realized something so awful... no BBQ sauce!

Quickly scrambling, I decided not to give up on my dream of having ribs for dinner, so I decided to try glazing the ribs. And I'm so glad I did.

I am a huge fan of the idea that one can both love the taste of alcohol and the way it makes you feel. From rummy desserts to beer-battered anything; alcohol usually finds its way into my array of seasoning and spices.

I often find that a good bottle can sometimes be just the thing to tie a meal completely together.

For sides, I went with two of my favorites: pan seared broccoli (simply salted and seared in a skillet) and perfectly cooked plain rice!

Feel free to comment or message letting me know what you pair with your ribs!

But... what you hungry creatives came for—RIBS!!

|Prep Time: ~15 Mins | Cook Time: ~4 - 6 hrs | 350°

Ingredients:

Rosso Veneto Glaze:

  • 1/4 cup Rosso Veneto (or red wine of your choice)
  • 1 tbsp melted butter
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (+ more to rub)
  • 1/4 tsp garlic (+ more to rub)
  • 1/4 tsp salt (+more to rub)
  • Ribs
  • Cilantro

Method:

  1. Combine 1/4 cup Rosso Veneto (or red wine you are using), 1 tbsp melted butter, 1 tbsp cornstarch, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 tsp garlic, 1/4 tsp salt in a medium saucepan and mix thoroughly.
  2. Bring to a boil, then let simmer on low for ~5 mins, then remove and store until ready to pour on your ribs.
  3. Rub ribs completely with dry spices, cilantro and brown sugar.
  4. Using a basting brush, generously apply wine glaze to both sides of your ribs.
  5. Wrap ribs gently in aluminum foil and bake on 350° for 2 hours.
  6. Pull out at 2 hours and baste completely again.
  7. Cook in the crockpot on low (or toss back in the oven) for remaining two hours.

Let me know how you enjoyed the recipe. What worked and what didn't work? Any recipes you want to see me try and make, just let me know!

Let me know if you'd like to see me make some of these recipes (I know making a new recipe always comes with a bit of anxiety).

(I was so inspired by how well the Rosso Veneto went with the ribs, I decided to test its multitasking abilities by making brownies, and they were insane!)

I might have to put that recipe up... or order a case of wine and get crazy.

I think I'm going to try more wine sauces too. Let me know your favorite alcohol recipes. I'm always looking to expand the harmony between my liquor cabinet and refrigerator.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Sweet Nothings

Alias Duece Lee Vizzini III

Now, Sweet Nothings, my blog is a sanctuary for love notes and human emotion. Each post is a step toward telling my own intricate, beautifully imperfect story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.