Feast logo

Restaurant full of surprises in Tucson AZ

Tucson local food review

By Queen anonymous Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Restaurant full of surprises in Tucson AZ
Photo by BENCE BOROS on Unsplash

Are you looking for a good place to eat in Tucson ? Or perhaps you want to know were not to go ? No worries you have come to the right place.

I’m going to give it to you straight; no sugar coating. My complete honest opinion.

So recently I went to a restaurant that I have been going to for many years, actually it’s a brewery. That’s right a local brewery and restaurant! Not very common if you ask me. The restaurant is called Barrio brewing co. As you walk towards the building and inside the building it clearly has a rustic steampunk type of look. Very unique and super laid back. This is not the place to come in a dress let’s just say that.

To my surprise it was happy hour. How lucky am I? and they had a taco special. I didn’t even know they had tacos there haha. For the first time in many years I ordered some tacos. I had 2 birria tacos, their tortilla soup, and one of their beers.

So here it is plain and simple. The tacos were made with a soft to crunchy tortilla just right, and fully loaded with meat. I haven’t had a taco that filling in a while, I mean there was so much Birria in that taco. I guess we’ll worth my hunger. I did find that the meat after about 3 bites is very dry and needs improvement. All in all it was very savory so I couldn’t complain. The tacos are a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Now on to the tortilla soup. I must say the soup was my ultimate favorite. I had it a couple years ago and didn’t think much of it but I think the recepie has been altered since I couldn’t get enough of it. It’s incredibly delicious. So good and Savory that I took another order of it to go. And now I’m hungry and I’m going to eat it as I write this review. The soup it’s self or the broth is so perfect, it has that desert/Mexican taste. It truly taste like home, it tastes like Mexico and Tucson put together. It was at the perfect temperature and it has thin long crunchy tortilla chips throughout to give it texture. It also has bits of chicken to give us some protein. The soup is a reddish brown color similar to a soup I had growing up: Sopa de fideo, but better. I would recommend going even just for that soup, it’s that worth it! This soup is getting 5 out of 5 rating. It’s perfect.

I also had one their beers. My favorite and regular is their Barrio Blonde Which is a light fresh tasting beer but full of flavor. but this time around I tryed their TJ’s Raspberry ale. I never had a beer that good before. At first you think raspberry! Oh my gosh it’s going to be too sweet or artificial like cotton candy. Wrong !!! It’s more subtle, it has more of a citrus taste in my opinion but better . When I go back I will be getting TJ’s raspberry ale. I recommend you try it too. You won’t be disappointed. It’s a lighter beer with fruity undertones. Very refreshing for the summer actually. This drink is getting a 4.5 out of 5 from me.

To add on to all this the service was great. I actually sat by the bar but our waitress made sure we were well taken care off. I have absolutely no complains about the service. She checked up on us here and there to make sure everything was fine and didn’t rush us. It’s hard to come by good service nowadays but this was the cherry on top. To give this entire restaurant a rating Im going to say it’s going to be 4.5 out of 5.

Well that is all for today.Untill next time Barrio brewing co.

Have fun eating out and enjoying the beautiful sunsets.

Email: [email protected]

restaurants
1

About the Creator

Queen anonymous

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.