Feast logo

Random Writings #1

Recipe for beef stew

By Robert BruberPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Random Writings #1
Photo by Edward Howell on Unsplash

My kitchen is in a mobile home and only slightly dirty but we shall skip the photos for now and focus on the important details, first thing you need is a list of cooking items I use.

- two pans, one for cooking beef and the second a large pot to fit all the ingredients.

-cutting board, I like a grooved bamboo one I bought at Aldis to keep the carrots from rolling around to avoid accidents.

-a sharp knife, hence the need for proper carrot control.

-spatula and whisk, I prefer flat wooden spatulas to cut the beef.

Next thing needed are the ingredients, you can add and remove anything to suit tastes and allergies but I'll list how I make it and go from there, experiment and try different things so you don't get stuck in a rut.

-Beef, two pounds.

-Baby carrots, roughly half a 16 oz bag.

-frozen corn.

-boomer gold potatoes, golden potato company I use half a bag.

-beef stock or broth, 32 oz.

-cheddar cheese.

-salt, pepper, and seasoning salt. lowery's is a favorite for seasoning salt but any type of spice to add flavor will suffice

-onion powder.

-four packets brown gravy, low sodium if you can find it.

-butter.

-olive oil.

First off is to cut the potatoes and carrots and drop them in the pot then add in the beef broth, refill the container with water roughly halfway to three quarters full, and season with salt, pepper, seasoning salt, and a small dash of onion powder, you don't need much for seasonings at the start. Put both pot and pan under high heat at the same time, I put the stew pot on a small burner, and with the empty pan add in olive oil and butter once its melted put in the beef and season with salt, pepper, and seasoning salt.

Halfway through cooking the beef drain away the liquid and add in a small amount of olive oil and butter and season again. I like the beef to be at the point between crispy and ruined before I add it into the stew pot, since I use a small burner for the stew pot and a large burner for the beef the liquid will just start to bubble when the beef is cooked. once you add in the beef into the pot transfer the pot to the large burner and reduce heat once the stew is brought to a boil and whisk in two packets of gravy and add in a small amount of salt, pepper and cover and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes check and whisk every 5 minutes or so, I'll turn on top gear or grand tour on amazon prime just don't be easily distracted like me.

Add in the two remaining packets of gravy and corn and cheddar cheese next, if you want to bake biscuits to serve with the stew I would bake them at this time since the tubes I buy take 13 to 16 minutes to bake that can also be a timer for the final stage of cooking, let simmer for another 15 to 20 minutes checking again every 5 minutes or so then season one last time before serving.

Final note I prefer electric stoves for cooking to make everything easier I'm not actually sure the classification of my stove but I think its an induction type stove I'll have to google it and figure this out as I do quite a bit of experimenting with baking brownies and making my own frostings at home.

recipe
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.