Feast logo

Potion of Love

Gut Healing Bone Broth

By Peter MoodyPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
1
I'll just sit here and blip away for 48 hours! 

Vegan and veggie friends, look away now!! I am about to alienate a number of my fine clean eating friends with this latest blog, but it's medicinal, honest! I've been having this delicious broth every morning for the past few weeks and I have to say I am obsessed with ensuring I have a good stock (forgive me) of it in the fridge!

Bone broth has been used for centuries to heal and restore, and it was, and is, a great way of using up all the leftover bits! It is also, of course, beloved by chefs and home cooks alike. Its healing qualities perhaps need to be shouted from the roof tops a little more! I made my first batch after reading about its ability to cure leaky gut, but there is so much more to it:

A good batch of bone broth can, amongst other things:

  • Treat leaky gut syndrome
  • ​Generally improve your digestion
  • ​Maintain healthy skin
  • Protect your joints
  • Boost immune system

The long simmering of your chosen bones (you can use beef, lamb, chicken or even fish!) and the associated ligaments releases healing compounds like collagen, proline, glycine, and glutamine that have the power to transform your health. And it's so easy to do!

Bone broth has gained huge popularity in recent years and it's no wonder. It's a natural, sustainable, cheap, nutritious, and for many, comforting food. Me? I just like it! It seems to be having a positive effect on my gut. I take it with about 150 ml of beetroot juice every morning. I'm feeling more alert, have less gut issues, and feel full until lunchtime. My veggie friends won't approve, but boy it tastes good!

Here's the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 kgs of beef bones (I get mine from the amazing Machins in Henley)
  • Water to cover
  • 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 medium onion, roughly diced
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped carrots
  • 1 1/2 cups parsnips
  • 4 bay leave
  • Head of garlic
  • 1 tbsp of peppercorns
  • 1 inch knob of ginger (optional)
  • 1 Tbsp of turmeric root (optional)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 250 °C and line a baking sheet with foil. Place the bones on the baking sheet and roast for 40 minutes. No need to add oil
  2. Take the bones out of the oven and place into a large stockpot. cover with water. At this stage, add the vinegar and allow to sit at room temperature for about 30 minutes. This leeches more of the essential nutrients and vitamins from the bones
  3. Chop the vegetables and add to the stockpot. Bring to a boil and then turn to the lowest heat you can get.
  4. Simmer for 48 hours, (if you dare). You can always turn it off and on again.
  5. When it is cool drain the meat bones and veg. Transfer the broth to an airtight container and refrigerate.Leave overnight. You'll notice the broth has turned from liquid to jelly and has a layer of fat on the top. Scrape this off.

I store this in kilner jars in the fridge. You can freeze it.

Your gut will thank you!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Peter Moody

Primary school teacher, writer/blogger. My wife Ali and I live in South Oxfordshire. I am fascinated by what is available locally and seasonally and hope to be able to share that with you here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.