Feast logo

Poor Man's Beef Stroganoff

"Struggle" Cooking with Natalie

By Natalie FletcherPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Poor Man's Beef Stroganoff--Made by Me!

Cooking is something that I love doing. My kitchen is where I am happiest, and I am always wanting to entertain my friends so I can cook them some yummy food. One think that I have been stuggling with is using up everything in my fridge, freezer and pantry. Therefore I buy and buy and buy and items just get push further and furhter to the back of the shelf. The COVID-19 pandemic of the year 2020 has shown that we can not let that happen as store shevles were cleared out in early March, and now we see limits on items or price increases on just about everything.

I made an effort to start shopping more local, whie there is likely a price premuim on just about anything, the food quality is AMAZING and you can definatly taste it, and really it makes me feel good that I am supporting a local farm and busniess. With all of that being said, I wanted to try something new with things from my share this week, something that I have done before but can put my own spin on it.

Traditionally, strogonoff is made with a strip or flank steak, but I only had some ground beef in the freezer, so we are using that! I also HATE dishes, washing them is such a pain espically after cooking. While I do clean as I go, after I finish a meal I just like to relax as I enter a food coma. So pour your glass of wine and lets get started!!

some of what you need!

Firstly, the goods! Here is what you'll need:

1 pack of ground beef, thawed if prevouisly frozen

1/2 of yellow or white onion coarsly chopped

1 cup of half and half or heavy cream, I always have half and half so I am using that

Salt

A few grinds of pepper

2 tablespoons of flour

1 pack of egg noodles

Butter--I eye ball the amount

Some garlic or garlic scapes, I LOVE garlic so I used a lot

Broth--beef or veggie--I make my own veggie broth so I used that

Worchestshire

Red Pepper Flakes

Now that you have your makings, left get to work. Place ground beef in large skillet on low heat. Allow the ground beef to brown, breaking up into small peices once cooked to your liking strain and set aside, as you are , chop your onion and garlic.

Boil water for egg noodles. Fun fact, do not add salt until AFTER the water is boiling, this will help create more of a robust flavor. Cook noodles according to package.

Now that your beef is cooling and water will soon be boiling, using the same skillet saute your onions and garlic until you smell a nice aroma, they should start to brown slightly. Once complete, melt 2-ish tablespoons of butter and add 2 tablespoons of flour, whisk for about a minuet until golden in color. Now, slowly pour in the half and half or heavy cream, until throughly mixed, should look homogenous, add the broth slowly , the sauce should begin the thicken. This is where you will add the worchestshire sauce, just a few shakes will do. Add salt and pepper to taste and red pepper flakes.

Once sauce seems to be looking beautiful, add the ground beef, and allow to simmer for 5 minuets. Once the noodles are ready, strain. Get a bowl, place the noodles first and then top with the sauce!

Bon Apetit!

recipe
1

About the Creator

Natalie Fletcher

HI! I am a college student who loves to explore all my city has to offer and put my cooking skills to use in my kitchen every night!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.