Feast logo

Pancakes at Grandmas House

A Tribute for My Grandparents

By Rachel HarrisPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Pancakes at Grandmas House
Photo by Calum Lewis on Unsplash

The smell of Blueberry Pancakes, Bacon ,scrambled eggs and Coffee permeated through the air waking me from a deep sleep.

I rubbed my sleepy eyes ,sat up and then walked into the lively kitchen.

"Good morning, sleepy head", my grandma said with a big smile on her face. As I sat down at the table my Grandaddy asked me what I would like to drink which was usually a big glass of orange juice.

Most of my best Summer memories revolve around my grandparents and much simpler times like these.

Double Blueberry Pancakes were always one of my favorite recipes that my grandma made.

And I always thought they were her own secret recipe. Come to find out she didn't make them up at all. Infact, she got her recipe from a long time friend. They were always trading recipes.

The food we ate and the conversations that we shared around the table are now distant memories. My grandmother can no longer cook "her famous" Double Blueberry Pancakes or anything else for that matter. She lives in a home that is not the place that I grew up waiting eagerly at a table.

Now I can only visit my grandma through a window or on a porch and I can't hug her and haven't been able to for over a year.

She no longer calls me sleepy head or princess and she doesn't remember my name.

Every once in a while my Grandaddy will give me something of hers. He's gradually letting go of his sweetheart one momento at a time.

My grandmother had several cookbooks and recipe cards that he let me keep. " I don't guess she will be cooking anymore, he said" as he gave them to me.

I often cry when I think about my grandmother who was also one of my best friends.

I opened the old wooden recipe card holder and thumbed through her collection.

It's hard for me to even open the box. But each time I do I remember a little more. I remember the mornings eating breakfast at Grandmas table and I remember " her "Double Blueberry Pancakes.

Thinking back I am glad to have spent so much time with my grandparents. I wish that my grandmother could come over to my house.

There are three blueberry trees in my backyard. For the last month my husband and I have spent time picking blueberries.

We heated our griddle until it was hot and folded the blueberries into the batter. The berries popped slightly as the pancakes cooked and we served them up to our kids making our own pancakes and remembering the times we all laughed, ate and talked around grandma's table eating Double Blueberry Pancakes.

🥞 Double Blueberry Pancakes 🥞

Yield: 23 Pancakes

2 ½ cups of Bisquick mix

1 ¼ cups of milk

⅓ cup of sugar

⅓ cup sour cream or plain yogurt

2 eggs

2 cups of fresh or frozen blueberries ( thawed and drained)

Stir Bisquick milk sugar sour cream and eggs in a large bowl until blended

Gently stir in blueberries

Poor by slightly less than 1/4 cup onto Hot griddle

Cook about 2 minutes or just until pancakes are dry around edges turn and cook 2 minutes or until golden

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Harris

when

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.