Feast logo

Paleo Pizza Honey Crust

How To Make Flatbread Snack Wedges

By Stephen RichardsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Paleo Pizza Honey Crust

For many years, I have enjoyed perfecting my own homemade pizza crust, beginning with, in my early childhood, asking my big sister to help me make our own brand new pizza with the help of her brand new Easy Bake Oven. For some reason, that never happened. Later, however, in my teen years, my dad showed me how to make his very own American Pizza, or a twice-toasted (my idea) stack of American cheese melted on top of seasoned tomato sauce spooned on top of pre-toasted white sandwich bread slices. I used to love that snack!

These days, having switched my diet to Paleo, the challenge to make a perfect pizza crust has become even greater. One time, when I was trying out a new NuWave infrared oven, I thought I had figured it out, but then I could not repeat the result.

This time, however, I have finally gotten it right. This Paleo pizza crust, crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside, tastes to me a lot like whole wheat honey bread. When I had first invented this brand new recipe, I immediately enjoyed this new bread right out of the oven. Pizza or other toppings, however, might boost your satisfying level meter on this flatbread even more than just scarfing down this entire treat completely plain in just one sitting did for me.

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon cassava flour

3 tablespoons almond flour, blanched

3 tablespoons coconut flour

3 tablespoons arrowroot flour

1 tablespoon nutritional yeast

1 tablespoon honey, wild-hive

(Note: I think that this honey type probably is Paleo-compatible in containing no corn because wild bees are probably not fed anything at all, which would probably rule out the possibility of anything like corn syrup being used as any feed at all.)

1 tablespoon hemp seeds, hulled

1 tablespoon hemp protein powder

1 tablespoon chia seed powder

1 tablespoon ghee, solid

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar, raw, unfiltered

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon Himalayan pink salt, fine

1/4 teaspoon no-onion Italian seasonings or my Cold Mix (no-onion)

https://anvil-panow-creations.com/f/all-meal-spice-seasoning-mix

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 cup and 3 tablespoons water, plain

1 tablespoon coconut palm sugar

1 teaspoon lemon juice, pure

2 tablespoons flaxseed meal

1 tablespoon flaxseeds, ground

Directions:

Preheat a Ninja Foodi grill on the Bake setting at 350 degrees F.

In a small bowl, stir together 1 tablespoon of the flaxseed meal and 3 tablespoons of the water. Set the mixture aside for at least 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, stir together the cassava flour, almond flour, coconut flour, arrowroot starch, nutritional yeast, hemp protein powder, hemp seeds, chia seed powder, baking soda, salt, seasonings, garlic powder, ground flaxseeds, and 1 tablespoon of flaxseed meal. Set the mixture aside.

Meanwhile again, in a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the thickened flaxseed and water mixture, honey, ghee (disperse while still solid), apple cider vinegar, olive oil, coconut palm sugar, lemon juice, and 1/2 cup water.

Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture. Stir together all of the batter into a dough ball. Press the dough ball onto an 8-inch pizza stone into a flat 8-inch circle. Place the stone on top of one of the bottom racks. Set the rack into the main pot. Place the pot in the oven.

Bake the dough for 30 minutes. Remove the crust from the oven. Lift the crust off of the pizza stone with a spatula onto a chopping board or cut-proof dinner plate. Slice the flatbread into 4 or more wedges with a pizza cutter. Enjoy the pizza crust wedges immediately plain or with toppings.

I did not save any of my first invented such loaf, but you can probably also chill the wedges and enjoy them later heated or cold.

Paleo Pizza Honey Crust

recipe
2

About the Creator

Stephen Richards

Released brand new song - As We Are.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.