Feast logo

ON THE ROAD

Food

By Paul HerreraPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

ON THE ROAD

Ever since I was a young kid my parents took the family out to eat. Not just anyone restaurant, we traveled from San Diego to Venture and all points in between.

Today I still traveling and still look for diners to eat at. If you are ever driving along east on the 10 freeway you pass the City of Colton, California. You should stop at one of my favorite places, P&G Burgers.

One of the things I like about this diner is the crew, very friendly and always willing to go the extra mile for you.

The inside of the diner

Remembrances of the past when they were just starting out. It reminds me of the middle of the late seventies look.

If you are a railroad enthusiast, sit next to one of the windows, from there you will have a front-row seat to the trains that pass by throughout the day, like lunch and a show.

One of the things I like about P&G is that it is a come as you are informal dress code, even with a packed house the atmosphere still retains a friendly outlook. I have had many conversations with the owners, conversing about everything. The owner Paul is one of the friendliest owners I have ever met. I have personally witnessed a customer having to answer a phone, the call took longer than expected, so he placed a replacement order so when the customer returned, they could still enjoy a hot meal.

If you were wondering, yea many of those items hanging on the walls are original. Collectors cannot find items in mint condition.

P&G offers a wide selection of food, but there is a catch nothing is made till the order is placed. I know that there are other places that cook the same way but trust me, the food tastes better, everything is cooked in vegetable oil.

One of my favorite items to order is a mixed breakfast burrito, with grilled onions, and the house freshly made salsa. Every bite is filled with taste. It is large and filling, you know that good kind of filling. Contentment for a large part of the day.

Another favorite breakfast is their steak and eggs, what makes this different is they are one of the few diners that use premium cuts, and hash browns, eggs, A1 steak sauce, the house salsa, and its makes breakfast an experience.

For lunch there is a selection of sandwiches, I prefer the steak sandwich on rye, nice. Okay, I admit it, I do try to eat healthily, P&G offers a crispy chicken salad that ends hunger pains very quickly. But, at least for my tastes, it does not have that taste like it was deep-fried and buried in salad dressing.

P&G is a great place to bring a lunch date. With a full menu nearly anyone’s taste taken care of.

One item I highly recommend trying, when you are passing through, looking for something different is to order the pastrami cheeseburger, with a shake of your chosen flavor.

So, if you are ever traveling on the 10 freeway, in Colton, California, exit off the Mt. Vernon exit, go north, hang a left, and head towards the center of town. You will see P&G Burgers, like an oasis in the middle of the city. Sorry, it is not visible from the 10 freeway. It is right next to Denny’s. Yes, they do give Denny’s a run for the customer dollar.

Good food that is hard to beat, only at my favorite place, P&G Burgers. They have a drive-through, take phone-in orders, and can deliver via GrubHub to your home or business.

cuisine
Like

About the Creator

Paul Herrera

Looking forward to learning and earning on Vocal!

I love stories that have twists and turns, enough it creates good conversation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.