Feast logo

Okonomiyaki

One of life's little treasures

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Okonomiyaki

After years of visualizing and planning, I was finally able to see my dream of traveling to Japan become a reality. I had learned enough of the language to get myself around adequately. I knew what many of the symbols and signs meant and I was more than anxious to take part in the culture that I had so thoroughly and comprehensively studied for years.

I easily settled into my hotel Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, which is in the bustling and busy location of Kabukicho.

All around the area, there were street stalls and vendors selling various, amazing items. Everyone that I met was so very friendly and accommodating. I am ashamed to admit that I knew truly little about the local cuisine. All the food that was being prepared on the street was savory and inviting. I was even given a hefty serving of Daigaku Imo from a local vendor for free. Daigaku Imo is simply deep-fried potato wedges with a sticky salted caramel coating sprinkled with sesame seeds. They were delicious. Before I went back to my hotel room, I purchased another serving.

The next morning as I made my way down to the breakfast bar, I realized once again that I knew little about what was being served. I was able to find an employee who knew the English language very well. I explained to her that I had never been to Japan before and that I was having a slight problem deciding what to eat.

She recommended that I try the Okonomiyaki. It was being fried and prepared in the open. I watched in amazement as the chef’s hands quickly moved back and forth. Watching a Japanese chef at work is true art.

Okonomiyaki is a Japanese savory pancake containing a variety of ingredients. It’s also known as Japanese Pizza. Okonomi means 'whatever you like' and 'yaki' means cook or fry.

By simply watching, I noticed that the ingredients were simple. He started with a wheat-flour-based batter. The main ingredients are cabbage, flour, egg and meat or seafood, cooked on a hot griddle in front of customers. The dish is always topped with a special okonomiyaki sauce which is a sweet-savory brown sauce; other toppings include mayonnaise, seaweed powder, and bonito flakes. A small metal spatula is often provided to each diner to divide it up easily, since it’s often a dish to be shared.

My particular dish was served over a layer of noodles and a soft fried egg. It was the most delicious, amazing food that I had ever tasted. I had this meal every day (sometimes twice a day) during my visit.

After returning home I tried to recreate this meal several times. After many failures, I eventually found a suitable alternative. Although nothing could ever compare to the savory, deliciousness of a fresh Japanese okonomiyaki, prepared as you watch.

I even found Okonomi Sauce at Walmart.com ( you can buy it here)

I also found a video that shows how to make a really good version.

How to Make Okonomiyaki with Ivan Orkin | Dear Test Kitchen - YouTube

I have yet to taste another food that so accurately captures the Japanese experience. Every time that I taste it, I go back to Tokyo where the sky is soft crimson and orange as the sun goes down. The people are friendly and more than happy and proud to introduce you to their culture.

Japan can be one of the most beautiful places in the world to visit where Blossom Trees bloom and beautiful sights are seen. Memories that will last forever are made. Tourists and locals can find a variety of Tombs and Temples as well as small shops to visit. Almost anyone that you meet will eagerly point you in the direction of another valuable sight to see.

Visiting the Pure Water Temple, a place where there are many different fountains supplying different benefits to those who drink from it. But be warned, the locals say that drinking from more than one fountain is taboo and selfish.

No matter what you choose to do during your visit, I urge you to get yourself an authentic, freshly made Okonomiyaki. Along with your wonderful visual memories, the Okonomiyaki will stay with you for the rest of your life as well. Of course, this is true with any food that you truly enjoy.

Never get so busy that you forget to eat slow and delight in the texture smell and taste. Close your eyes and let it take you somewhere special. Scents and smells do something magical for the soul. Like smelling a flower early in the morning after a fresh rain. It’s the little things that truly make life worthwhile.

cuisine
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.