Feast logo

Ohio is for Lovers... Food Lovers

An international trip through North Market

By Miss DarylPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

It never fails that within some random sitcom or movie classic there some reference to an unimportant character from Ohio. Sometimes it is the friend or colleague of a character. Other times it is a recurring character. Some even go as specific as to call out cities, Cleveland has proven to be a crowd favorite.

I always imagine this to be the case because so often when people think of Ohio they think of a middle America white, midwestern, could-be-30-but-looks-like 40-year-old guy in a Buckeye t-shirt screaming O-H and sipping a natty light. As someone reading this who is likely not from Ohio (or perhaps you are, like me *woo* shared suffering,) you may not know that Ohio is infused with a rich and diverse culture of people from all over.

Now when I say Ohio, please understand that I’m speaking more so to the echoes of the three C’s (Cleveland, Cincinnati, and Columbus.) And when I say the 3 C’s, my personal C of choice is Columbus.

Hello, my name is Daryl. And while I’m not sipping a natty light (19 Crimes), nor am I a white male, I do enjoy the Buckeyes and the hidden flavors I’ve found in the city of Columbus, OH.

While I’m a big believer in wanderlust and finding yourself over and over again across the globe. I am equally a believer in the metaphoric journeys we take through our very own cities. Especially when we’re talking cuisine.

When I think about the big cities that I love to romanticize the reality of living in, I think of my happy place.

Food.

Food is my favorite teleportation device. The flavor profiles of so many distinct cultures and cuisines. Recipes made from the history and the survival of an ancestral people we break bread with every time we pick up our forks. There is a gift on the other side of that fork. An offering, of an experience to another land outside of your own. My land outside my own just happens to be 2 miles down Broad St.

North Market

The North Market is a 145-year-old public market in Columbus, Ohio that features independent merchants, farmers, and makers. Upon entering the building you enter your own personal ‘Choose Your Own Adventure’ food guide as there is certainly a merchant for all your flavor profile needs. From the savory broth of pho to the cake batter sweet German waffles, you aren’t at Burger King, but you most certainly can have it your way.

My way – typically a toss up between the sweet heat of Hoyo’s Kitchen of the Mediterranean fresh options of Firdous. I rarely pass up the opportunity for salmon so perfectly seasoned it feels like kissing summer, so Firdous it is.

Firdous Express

Live the fresh life.

Firdous Express Mediterranean cuisine ranges from fresh tabula, crispy falafel, to heavenly baklava. And most importantly they season every plate I’ve every been served with the kindest smile and invitation to return.

I pair my salmon with their Greek salad of fresh crispy romaine lettuce, red onions, kalamata olives, juicy tomatoes, and a lemon dressing. The Mojodara rice is the perfect hearty blend to enjoy some healthy carbs while keeping things light. I believe what I love the most is the Firdous provides me with a hearty meal that is honestly so big I can split it in two. And what’s better than one deliciously heartwarming meal? Two.

I can eat this meal almost twice a day. And some days I do as it’s largely inspired my continued seasoning and combination of plates for my own meals at home as well as the meals that I prepare for my meal prep clients.

Salmon is an excellent source of protein and I find that many people just need to find the proper way to season it. I always recommend seasoning to taste with salt & pepper as that’s one of the most beautiful parts of creating in the kitchen. You can create to your very own unique taste.

Eat with Love

As I write here, a Black woman living testimony to the plentiful culture that exists in Columbus, Ohio I plead you to continue to explore the markets of your own town. And feel free to use the recipe below for your own season to taste.

And most importantly no matter you are or who you're with, eat with love.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Miss Daryl

Word Enthusiast. Lover of Life.

Unapologetically Awkward Black Queen.

I write from my experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tinka Boudit She/Her2 years ago

    Note to self: visit Ohio for food. I also LOVE 19 crimes wine.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.