Feast logo

Oblivion Comics & Coffee: A Sacramento Tragedy

A permanently closed Sacramento coffee shop and why it is important to support our local businesses during the pandemic.

By Jennifer TicknerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Oblivion storefront in Downtown Sacramento.

I first visited the hidden gem that was Oblivion Comics & Coffee in December of 2018 shortly after discovering their presence in Downtown Sacramento. There were not a whole lot of businesses that I had known of in the area that utilized the same concept of merging comic culture and coffee, so my interest was piqued. I myself had brainstormed that kind of idea before, in a "what do I want to do with my life" kind of way, so to see a coffee shop/comic book store in real life and so close to home was a wonder to me. It made Sacramento just feel cooler.

Oblivion began when co-owners Laura Benson and Neil Estaris won Sacramento's Calling All Dreamers contest back in 2016. The coffeehouse then opened in May of 2017. The Oblivion Bar from DC Comics served as an inspiration for the space.

The menu featured all kinds of delicious things. You had your basic coffee items you could order, along with a list of specialty drinks with memorable names and pop-culture references. Additionally, they had a food menu with toasts made from thick slices of bread, and sandwiches, along with a seasonal menu.

During my first visit, I ordered a basic white mocha (my average go to for frequented and new coffee shops alike) and The Edible Hulk toast, which was a super thick slice of sourdough toast, buttered, and topped with mashed avocado, sea salt, black pepper, and red pepper flakes. As basic as my order was, it was delicious.

The Edible Hulk and white mocha.

And the coffee bar was only the front half of the store. Beyond the counter area and around the corner was a comic book store on a modest floorplan. Though it wasn't massive, they seemed to have a sprinkling of everything from newer prints to graphic novels. So really, it didn't need to be.

I went back a few more times, though it absolutely was not enough. Though I switched up my coffee order to try both the Cobblepot and the Latte of Truth coffee items at least once, my toast order usually stayed the same as I remained obsessed with the Edible Hulk. (Though another notable toast would be the Oblivion: "A swirl of strawberry and blackberry perserves over cream cheese.")

Another reason I greatly admired Oblivion was for their events, such as open mic nights, trivia nights, and bingo nights. Though I had never attended, I had hoped to at some point.

Even when I didn't go, I was comforted by the fact that the place even existed and that I could at some point partake in my not so guilty pleasures of coffee and comic books simultaneously.

The Cobblepot.

Until the news came that they were closing in September of 2020. Permanently.

It was a shock. It was a devastation. It saddens me just to write this.

Though the website is still up and running, along with the drool-worthy menu page, the landing page wastes no time in the guesswork of prospective customers and reads that "Oblivion Comics & Coffee is now permanently closed."

Oblivion's closure came at a time when COVID-19 presented a huge challenge for small businesses to overcome, as it still does now. Without the advantage of foot traffic in the Downtown area and with the temporary closure earlier on in the year, both due to the pandemic, Oblivion seemed to lack the support necessary to continue on. It's truly unfortunate all around; while a handful of people had to look for another job and the owners lost their small business, Sacramento lost a great place that, in my opinion, was slept on a little too much.

Though they are closed, some form of hope remains. The landing page also reads "We don’t know what the future holds for us, but please stay in touch and follow us," with links to their Facebook and Instagram pages, under the closure announcement. Maybe it is only wishful thinking, but perhaps the owners may be able to bring Oblivion back in some form in the future. I strongly recommend checking out their social media pages, if not only to see what was.

If there is anything to take away from Oblivion's closure, it's this: Support your local businesses. Support your favorite businesses. Support the small businesses that you love that are at risk of shutting their doors during these troubling times. And if you aren't in the position to offer support in financial form, sharing information about your favorite businesses with your friends and family or on social media really can go a long way.

restaurants
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Tickner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.