Feast logo

New York pizza

A frequent place for lunch

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
New York pizza
Photo by Shourav Sheikh on Unsplash

It is interesting when you ask someone what is their favorite restaurant, what you learn about their personality. All my friends like to be able to talk without shouting. They enjoy socializing with the staff and each other. Some though prefer a more pretentious environment. While others want a relaxed community, down-to-earth setting. I tend to like both. I usually dress so that a flip of a coin I can go either way. But I have learned what kind of restaurant each friend prefers. I learned through trial and error. Once I made a mistake and took one friend for pizza. Her only comment was "They need to decorate the walls more" No opinion on the pizza, just the interior decorating. I never took her back there. We tried another pizza place -The Loop. This one she felt was too expensive for what you got. I think we discussed the chairs. I had wished I could buy two. Usually, I let her pick the restaurant The environment at the Loop is pretty plain, but I often run into people I know when I go there. In my opinion, it is a community restaurant even though it is not that personable. One of its strong points is the busboy. He has been there for years. He is friendly and will remember you if you come in a lot. A lot of families eat there. It usually isn't too loud, unless there is a birthday party. For other friends, the Loop is decorated alright, but the high turnover does not blend enough into their perception of a community restaurant. Again it is too expensive for what you get. Everybody seems to enjoy their interaction with the busboy.

I like both atmospheres. I love going into a more pretentiously decorated restaurant. I relax in the comfort of it. It gives me self-confidence and I have a desire to have a cocktail. I only have a drink if I am by myself. With friends, I usually get a diet coke. Some restaurants like crackle barrel are well decorated but not pretentious. The food there is really good. I tend to select the eatery I go to by the taste and cost of the food, as well as how much time I have. If I want a drink, I will usually go to a fancier restaurant.

When I used to work at Lowes, I had fifteen-minute breaks. In this short period of time, I would run next door to Burke Street Pizza. The slices are large, and they usually have a daily special. The atmosphere is pleasant. The people are efficient but friendly. It was quick like a lunch break stop should be. I didn't have an hour to eat my lunch. Even though my coworkers didn't usually care if I was three or four minutes late. That slice filled me up, wasn't extremely expensive, and tasted good. It has New York- pizza. They have daily specials. They have the same specials every week. I used to have them memorized. I think it was Saturday that I didn't get the special. On that day I got the cheese slice. They also delivered. If we had parties at work, we would have them deliver. It is a local restaurant for the working folks who do not have an hour or more to eat lunch. And since they deliver, you can eat anywhere within the delivery zone with friends or relatives. If I have time to eat, I usually agree with my friends that I like to be able to hear and hold a conversation. I also appreciate good cooking. And all of us agree, we don't want to spend our whole paycheck.

restaurants
2

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.