Feast logo

My Review of "MasterChef Canada: Season 5"

The most diverse group of contestants since the show's inception.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

MasterChef Canada: Season 5 was a little worrisome for me because I was worried that the contestants were starting to get a little lackluster. Although season 4's contestants picked up their cooking game closer to the end I thought it was probably a weaker season. I wasn't sure how this season would fare. Also the show runners would obviously have to keep the show fresh by bringing up new ideas.

This season started out brand new again. I actually liked the way this season started out. We don't really have the disappointments that we usually got in the American Idol-like auditions of the old seasons. This season had the judges go in person to each of the possible candidates to deliver the good news that they made it to the show. It's really nice to see the reactions of the contestants in a their own elements in genuine surprise and happiness.

Right out of the bat the show created adversaries with Beccy and Kaegan. I don't think Kaegan intentionally made himself into a villain but that's what it sort of seemed in the first few episodes. He kind of changed the vibe of the show where it would emulate similar reality shows of other shows where he would do anything in order to win. I don't really like the sociopath way of winning like they do in other reality shows and this is what the big draw of this show was for me. I liked the fact that the Canadian version of the show were helpful and wanted to beat people at their best.

I became really worried because Michael V., the firefighter kind of took to the same way Kaegan was going to play the game. No way, I don't want this show to start becoming the same as all the other reality competition shows. I don't know what happened but I guess once Kaegan got eliminated I think everything kind of changed. People started to understand what kind of game this is and they started to get to know each other and felt bad to do bad things to each other.

There were notable contestants such as Michael G. who helped his direct competition right at the end only to lose to him. I thought it was really nice of him to feel bad about his opponent and even bring out the fire torch to help his friend disaster of a dish to look a little better. It was sad to see him go because he was such a good person.

I have so many mixed opinions about Beccy. She's such a phenom but she has no personal skills at all it was kind of funny at times. She would always answer in one word answers whenever the judges were trying to provoke conversations. At one point judge Alvin even asks if she wants him to get out of her hair and she's like yeah. I thought that was hilarious that she was kind of more controlling the situation rather than the other way around. That's why she's a pro though.

She was extremely impressive this season and she's only 19! I couldn't believe how much of a great cook she was and she has all of the great qualities of being a great leader and her maturity was beyond her years. This season happened not too long ago so I'm really curious what happened to her.

I think they did an even better job adding the family aspect to the show when they had their loved ones come in to help them cook a dish for the competition. It was a nice touch to see how they interact with their loved ones in the kitchen. This isn't like a contestant of the show these people might not know what to do in the kitchen.

Compared to last season I would say that this was definitely a step up in the right direction. It really helped that they had a really good group of contestants this time around. I thought the level of talent this season was pretty impressive. Some of Eugene's stuff although over-complicated brought in a new art element to the show. I liked that as well. It put in a good spin to the usual mix.

Overall, I thought this was a rather good season compared to the other seasons. There was a group of good contestants this time around but there were a handful that were really a big step ahead of the group in this one. It was kind of rigged in a way. I have to give this season a 7 out of 10. This season has me waiting to see what next season has in store for us.

tv review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.