Feast logo

My Favourite Oatmeal Muffin Recipe

Healthy, easy and a lovely accompaniment to your hot drink

By Rejoice DenherePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
My Favourite Oatmeal Muffin Recipe
Photo by Song Yu on Unsplash

I love muffins. I used to buy a pack of four for a pound from my local supermarket, and I would eat them all in one go. They are so delicious and filling when washed down with a hot mug of chocolate. Unfortunately my love for muffins was burning a huge hole in my pocket until I learnt how to bake my own at home.

During the first lockdown in 2020, our stores ran out of flour. In my desperation I searched for alternatives and discovered how to make oat flour. There was no shortage of oats, thank goodness, so I was able to make a large quantity of oat flour for my baking requirements.

I experimented with different recipes, which I made up asI went along, until I found the winning combination.

The great thing with anything that is homemade is that you know what the ingredients are. You can also adjust the quantities of the ingredients to suit your own taste buds.

This is my recipe. I use bananas as they add moisture to the muffins making them light and fluffy.

You will notice that I don’t use a scale for measurements. That’s because I like to keep things as simple as possible.

Oatmeal Muffin Recipe

Equipment You Will Need

Muffin tray

Measuring cups

Measuring spoons

Sieve

Mixing bowls

Wooden spoon

Airtight container to store the muffins

Preparation time: 5 minutes

Baking preparation time: 20 minutes

Total preparation time: 25 minutes

Servings: Makes 12 large muffins, or 24 small ones

Ingredients

4 x 250ml cups oat flour

125ml cup sugar

125ml cup melted butter (you can use less butter if you wish)

250ml cup cold water or oat milk

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 mashed ripe banana (the more ripe it is, the sweeter it will be)

Method

Grease muffin tray.

Heat oven to 180 degree celsius.

Mix oat flour with baking powder and sift.

Add sugar and mix.

In a separate bowl mix the vanilla essence and water/milk.

Make a well in the flour and add the mashed banana, butter, plus the liquid ingredients.

Mix by folding the dough until all ingredients are fully blended in.

Spoon into the greased muffin tray.

Bake at 180 degrees for 20 minutes.

Allow to cool before placing into an airtight container, or freezing.

Storage Tips

1. To Prevent Muffins from Going Dry

Store the muffins in an airtight container. They will keep for up to three days.

2. Freezing

If you make a big batch you can freeze the oat muffins. Place them in ziplock bags, seal and store. When you want to eat them, remove from the plastic bag, and heat them up in the microwave for about a minute. The time will be determined by the size of the muffins so keep checking so they don’t burn.

Alternatively you could heat them up in the oven. I find that the oven heat tends to dry them, whereas in the microwave they come out light and fluffy.

Benefits

Some of the benefits of baking your own oat muffins include:

Home-baked muffins contain less sugar and are cheaper than the ones you buy at the grocery store.

You can eat them hot, straight out of the oven. Nothing beats freshly baked goodies.

If you make too many you can break them into crumbs and make the most amazing crumble for apple crumble.

You won’t be caught short when unexpected visitors turn up for tea, when you have nothing but oats in the cupboards. Just make a batch in under 30 minutes.

You can make them whatever size you want.

Oat muffins are a healthier option for people who are health conscious.

recipe
3

About the Creator

Rejoice Denhere

Lover of the written word, mother, and business owner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.