Feast logo

Min’s A to Z Banana Oatmeal Bake

With a snap of fingers

By Amel Min Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1

A to Z Banana Oatmeal Bake

Stands for... ❤️

Apple pie filling

Zucchini

Banana Oatmeal Bake

💕 Min’s A to Z Banana Oatmeal Bake 💕

Who’s up for a healthy wholesome homemade recipe that can be made in a snap?

That is also VEGAN, ALLERGEN, refined SUGAR AND OIL FREE?!

I know, I know, you just gasped with a disbelief of what I have said. But it IS POSSIBLE with the recipe that I had created just for this challenge! 😉

As a mom of four children... I need things made healthy and wholesome with real food and real ingredients with a snap of my finger. We are not particularly a “vegan” family, but since my youngest daughter has food sensitivities and allergies including eggs, wheat, dairy, and soy, and me being a proud breast feeding mama of all her four children (hoo hoo 🙌🏼) who happens to love baked goods and cannot give up on her food cravings, I just started veering towards vegan baking and found infinite possibilities. ❤️

So,

A to Z Banana Oatmeal Bake was a recipe that was supposed to be experimental because I was feeling lazy, low on ingredients, and yet I still wanting something worth spending good ten to fifteen minutes in my kitchen at eleven thirty at night. I wanted to make something that can be part of the breakfast or snacks for the next day. SNAP! I know I didn’t have too high of an expectation I just gathered and rummaged through my fridge and pantry and gathered some ingredients and found...

1 and 1/2 bananas

Half of zucchini

1 snack ziplock bag of apple pie filling

Old fashioned oats

A small bag of trail mix

(Almond milk* it’s in a bracket for a reason! Please continue reading and you will find out 😝)

Cinnamon

Ground nutmeg

Vanilla extract

Ground flaxseed

Maple syrup

Baking soda

Salt

And...

The secret ingredient called

Chickpea paste (huh?!)

💕 Chickpea paste 💕

Well technically it’s not really a secret,but i will tell you it was completely an accidental discovery when I was trying to make some homemade white corn tortillas. instead of putting corn masa flour I put chickpea flour! (Doh!)

As I have my own home policy of zero food waste I kept the chickpea, water, salt and olive oil mixture in the fridge. 🤷🏻‍♀️ and was looking for ways to use almost two cups of chickpea and water mixture with salt. so far I have used this chickpea flour paste to few other home made baked goods including gluten free pancakes and scones and they are superb replacement for oil!

There are no accidents in this universe truly! 😉

So here is the recipe for

Min’s

A to Z Banana Oatmeal Bake

We are all gathered here together..to create something yummy 💕

Ingredients and the measurements follow:

Wet

- 1 flax eggs

(1 tablespoon ground flaxseed with 2 1/2 tablespoons of water mixed and put aside)

- 2 tablespoons maple syrup

- 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

- 1/2 cup of chickpea flour mixture

(2cups of chickpeas 1 teaspoon salt 1 1/4of water)

- 3/4 cup (about half of a medium sized zucchini)

- 3/4 cup (mashed banana about 1 1/2 small to medium size banana)

- 3/4 cup

(apple pie filling about 1 small to medium size tart apple chopped and mixed with 2 tablespoons coconut sugar with 1/2 tsp cinnamon with a tad bit of lemon juice with 1/4 tsp arrowroot starch mixed tog)

- * (Up to 1/4 cup of almond milk)

* I know I have the almond milk in the picture but I had to put it in the bracket because I completely forgot to put it in my recipe... yes... I have had a long day and it was close to midnight... so please forgive me for the confusion.. nonetheless I do strongly believe from my baking experience if you would like softer and more moist oatmeal you can put 1/4 cup of almond milk or any other non dairy milk and it still will be superb!

A bit of coconut oil for coating the pan

Dry ingredients

- 1 1/4 cup of old fashioned oats

- 1 heaping teaspoon of cinnamon

- 1/4 teaspoons ground nutmeg

- 1 teaspoon of baking soda

- 1/4 teaspoon ground up sea salt or Himalayan salt

- A small bag of trail-mix

- And a handful (or more as you wish!) of dairy free chocolate chips

Cast iron skillet

Or

8 by 8 baking dish

1. Preheat the oven to 350 F

2. Mix ground flaxseed and water together and let it sit until other ingredients are ready

3. Make fruit and veggie mixture by Mashing the bananas, grating zucchini with a cheese grater and put apple pie filling in one bowl

4. Measure all the dry ingredients in another bowl and mix

5. Then Mix in chickpea flour paste in the dry ingredient mixture

6. Mix in all the other wet ingredients including vanilla extract, maple syrup and flax egg with fruit and veggie mixture (in this step you can also add almond milk)

7. Put the wet & fruit and veggie mixture into dry ingredient mixture

8. Grease the pan with coconut oil and pour in the mixture

9. Sprinkle with some dairy free chocolate chips and bake for 35 minutes to 45 minutes or bake until the edges start to turn golden brown so check on your baked goods from 35 minutes and on

(can be baked up to 60 minutes depending on how you like your baked oats to be. If you want more cookie like consistency which mine turned out to be chewier and with more pronounced oat texture because I was summoned by my youngest daughter while it was baking and it had to stay in the oven a tad bit longer than I had intended! But still came out delicious! 😋)

10. Wait until completely cool to cut into pieces as your liking and enjoy! 😉

right after it came out of Oven 💕

After completely cooled and cut into pizza slices the next day 🤓

If you want to avoid the hassle of making apple pie filling even though I haven’t tried it myself, I believe it can be replaced with just fresh cut apple pieces or even put in equal amount of apple sauce.

The fun of creating this recipe is that the measurement doesn’t have to be to the tee as long as approximate measurements are there and the end mixture doesn’t seem soggy. 😉

Hope you all enjoy ❤️

With much LOVE

From,

MIN 💕

recipe
1

About the Creator

Amel Min

Awareness and growth

Rooting in change

Accepting all I have been

That all I am

And will be.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.