Feast logo

Microgreens

Live Food for your Health!

By Susan KulkowitzPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Microgreens
Photo by Quin Engle on Unsplash

I've been working in health care for around 30 years. First as a Medical Assitant and then as an RN. As much as I enjoy helping people and being a part of their healing, I have to say and say it out loud, I am over it! Dont get me wrong. I really do love helping people and I really do want people to be well, but the responsibility of dealing with other's life and death issues and the persistent emotional tugging knowing I must remain impartial and strong for this or that person have topped me off emotionally and mentally, I am done. I want to enjoy helping people but not in this capacity.

Instead, I would love to have a business based on health and nutrition. I love taking care of myself so I eat a lot of microgreens for the nutrients and amino acids they provide. Microgreens are a pure food source that is fresh and alive. They are great as snacks and in salads or even in your health drink smoothie!

There are quite a variety of microgreens available at this time. Most people have heard of “sprouts” for their sandwhich or salad. When I was growing up, sprouts meant alfalfa greens only. Now you can get radish, buckwheat, mung bean wheatgrass, and sunflower sprouts to name a few. Using pure water on organic seeds I feel I am connected to all life. I can definately say eating microgreens is a spiritual experience.

By Devi Puspita Amartha Yahya on Unsplash

I have been trying to figure out how to have a micro greens business which could expand into other things such as herbs and maybe even plants. I live in a rural environment which feels limiting in regards to sales, and I honestly could not figure out how to make this work! I was thinking both too small and also too big. I was thinking farmer market verses grocery chains. Unfortunately farmer's markets are limited as far as business goes. It's hard to make a living if it rains. Where I live it is also very windy all spring . You can farmer market hop but again, limited crowd. And I have no idea how to get gigs at grocery stores and if I did, then I would have the opposite problem. Would I have enough product? Would I have the ability to stock multiple stores? And would that be too big for little ole me? Would I regret starting a business where I have to drive 2 hours to Tucson routinely because that is the largest city nearby. I could not fathom a way to create a market for my microgreen business. I decided to give up the idea of having this as a small business because the idea of finding clients was daunting.

I looked up Memberful and saw it is a platform for creating exactly what I was missing! Because of Memberful's challenge on Vocal, I realised I could sell Microgreens through Memberful’s online subscription or shop option! The idea that folks can purchase a monthly package or buy ala cart would give me an avenue in which to sell! I would only sell in my county, Cochise County AZ, making home deliveries possible. The deliveries would be set days of the week for each area of the county. Douglas Mondays, Elfrida Tuesday, Bisbee Wednesday, etc.

The piece I could not figure out was the marketing. That is where Memberful has helped me understand how to make it work. I can provide fresh microgreens and herbs to local folks through a subscription plan. Pay for your subscription, order your weekly package, and get your microgreens delivered. I have no idea how to create a subscription plan but I’m sure Memberful will teach me.

I am still nursing in the mean time. I was a Hospice Nurse for a couple of years and now I am taking care of children with trachs and g -tubes. It's very humbling. I feel I have served.

By amy lynn grover on Unsplash

And now my focus has shifted. I hope I have paid some karma back and I will definiatly continue to serve in what ever capacity because that is just how I am. But all my life, I have not really considered me. And I feel it's my time. I am realizing the importance of me being happy. Not that other's happiness does not matter, but I'm realising through all my nursing experiences that I want to be happy too! I have sat with so much suffering. I am ready to laugh. There are times in life where you have gratitude for the work and the stability and the grind because you need it and know you would be lost with out it. And then there are times in your life when you know you need to take care of your soul, laugh and enjoy and work for your self doing somethng positive.

By Augustine Fou on Unsplash

In my life, I have served and I am ready to serve Microgreens. Growing stuff, and also turning folks on to health and wellness. I have been planting fruit trees in my yard and developing a garden. In the desert. It takes time and energy but will be rewarding. I am focused on asparagus, strawberries, figs, pears, apples, and herbs. I love to garden and grow things.

I have a large workshop space which can be set up for the microgreens as they dont take up a lot of space unless you want to go big. I have a Nissan for deliveries. I figure if I can get 50-100 clients who will order monthly I can maybe let go of nursing and spend my time wearing my own cloths instead of scrubs.

healthy
2

About the Creator

Susan Kulkowitz

Writing saves lives. Some of you will understand, as you may have already been saved by writing. Put it on paper. Interpretive Solidification. Make it real, Allow freedom in expression to be control. Weave your words. Save your life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.